We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient location”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The hotel was lovely, clean, good linens and a great location, just a block from the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meldrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    561
    121
    25
    18
See reviews for
378
670
119
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was our last hotel on a trip to Canada that started in Montreal. It was the perfect hotel to end our trip in. The room were spacious and clean. Recycling bins should be in every hotel, a good bit of forward thinking. The bathrobe was a bonus. The staff,especially the bar staff, were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast in Prestons was very good although it is slightly expensive and there are several places in the area serving breakfast. A pleasant stroll takes you to Gastown and Chinatown. Avoid Chinatown at night unless you are visiting a restaurant,in which case use a taxi. There are lots of beggars in Gastown but a firm NO is all you need. Make sure to visit the steam clock. It's not far over to Grouse mountain and the Capilano Suspension bridge. Also well worth a visit but not for the faint-hearted especially if you get caught in a thunderstorm as we did. As others have said Stanley park is close by. There is a good grocery store on the corner with fantastic displays of fruit and vegetables well worth a photo according to our tour guide.
I would recommend this hotel and if I ever go to Canada again would hope to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claretcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed for two nights, hotel is in a great location with very stylish rooms. Four of us (2 adults + 2 teens) shared one room. Not enough drinks etc. but one quick call to reception produced an abundance of extra supplies. Very helpful reception, easy to leave bags for the day once booked out. Fantastic public access toilet within hotel! Found Vancouver a bit dull and too soulless, however beggars are everywhere and are a real pain! Walk up the road to Robson Street and find the Crepe shop for the best breakfast going, superb!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBLT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Loved the decor! The room was well-decorated with modern furnishings, nice tilework in the bathroom, and a lovely grey color scheme with green and white accents. Travelled with our two teenage daughters who slept comfortably on the full-sized hide-a-bed in the sitting room. The room was generously-sized with a sitting room, bedroom, and bathroom and two flat-screen TVs. The bathroom had a full-sized tub with a separate shower. The small pool is outdoors, but heated and there is a hot tub. My favorite feature about this hotel is that it obviously takes caring for the environment seriuosly. The toiletries came in large dispensers (although small bottles were availabe for you to take home), they had a recycling bin, and a composting bin. Yes, a composting bin in the room! First time I have ever seen this anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klausinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I live in the Vancouver suburbs and were looking for a downtown get-away. The Coast Coal Harbour did not disappoint. From the front desk staff, to the maintenance worker who stopped to greet us in the hallway, to the room service porter, to the doorman who called our cab - all provided excellent, friendly service. Our room overlooked Stanley Park and the view was spectacular! As well, we were very impressed with the room service food. Even though we ordered right at peak time (6:30 p.m.) food was delivered in 20 minutes. Both of our meals were excellent, very fresh ingredients, and large portions. The room itself was nicely decorated - simple and modern - and the bed was very comfortable. This is the first hotel I've ever been to where the soap etc. was in large pump bottles to reduce waste, but the individual-sized options were available as well. I was also pleased to see the waste recycling bins. The only thing I was disappointed with was the pool as there is no lounging area. If you are going to have an outdoor pool, a suntanning area is a must. That said, overall we had a fabulous experience and will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug08_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel was modern and had the attributes I normally see in boutique hotels. The rooms were spacious and had modern amenities making us feel like we had a small studio apartment in Vancouver. We also traveled with our dog (Border Collie) and the hotel was very accommodating of pet owners. A park one block away meant that potty breaks were easily accommodated.

The parking was quite expensive at $47/night. We should have parked on the street for free. There were many open spots available.

Location was very good, one block away from the harbor and seaplane base.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckabadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We could not believe when we walked up to our hotel. We paid $125US a night, and it probably could have been double. Our room looked brand new, comfy beds, super modern and sleek design. There is also a pool/hot tub/gym. It is a close walk to the water, about 2 streets over. But it isn't really in the heart of any certain "area," so you need to do some walking, and the buses in VC aren't very helpful when wanting to take a short trip.

The only complaint we had was the air conditioning, which when turned on you could barely hear each other talk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcwildcat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing