We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent there 6 nights before heading to Sunshine Coast. First at all, they let us check in 2 hours before the time and we really appreciated that as we were coming from a long flight from Europe. All staff was always kind and very helpful. A girl called Sheron very kindly booked for me a whale watching tour. And yesterday Kathleen (think that's her name) even printed for me the schedule for the ferries to Sunshine Coast.
Also very well located downtown!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    581
    123
    26
    18
See reviews for
397
700
123
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our group of four stayed here June 11-14, prior to departing on an Alaska cruise. We found the property to be most welcoming, modern, relaxing, and convenient. We could not have been happier with our decision to book rooms at this hotel.

LOCATION - Superb location! The Coast Coal Harbour is located just a few blocks from the Canada Place Terminal from which the Alaska cruises depart. It is situated in the heart of many attractions, and is within walking distance to waterfront restaurants, plazas, the convention center, and Stanley Park. It is also located within walking distance to rental car agencies. It is a great home base from which to explore Vancouver and the surrounding area. It is a pick –up location for most tours.

AMENITIES – The hotel has 220 comfortable, spacious guest rooms. Upgraded deluxe rooms have a harbor view of the picturesque Coal Harbour and Burrard Inlet. Preston's Restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner along with a cocktail lounge, is located off the attractive lobby. There is a gym/outdoor lap pool, and whirlpool. This hotel is a pick-up location for tours, and is in the heart of numerous Vancouver city attractions. Convenience stores for forgotten items are nearby, and a late night pizza establishment is next door for a last minute meal/snack.

STAFF- All staff we encountered could not have been nicer. It was obvious that outstanding customer service was their motto. Their brochure states "where people come first". Each staff member went above and beyond, accommodating our needs, from advice on city tours, car rental, giving directions, storing our baggage, helping with luggage labels, etc. Each deed was performed with warmth and friendliness. Kudos go out to Sayda and Sheron at the front desk as they were so extremely kind and helpful. Thanks to Chee and Alan in Preston’s Restaurant as well, for providing such a pleasant start to our mornings.

TOURING RECOMMENDATIONS - The Hop On Hop Off Tour Package provided a most convenient format for touring Vancouver and all the attractions this beautiful city has to offer from Granville Island, Gastown, Stanley Park, Prospect Point, Vancouver Lookout, etc.

~Touring Victoria, the capital of British Columbia requires a 45 minute drive to the ferry port, a 1 ½ hour ferry across the Strait of Georgia, and transportation into Victoria. The Landsea Tour, which was very professional and well organized, with pick-up at the hotel, proved to be a good option for us. Contact info: www.vancouvertours.com 604-255-7272. I would recommend making a reservation ahead as these tours get filled.

~We also rented a car for the day (car rental agency is within walking distance from the hotel) and drove to Whistler, about a three hour leisurely drive with scenic stops. This drive along the sea to sky highway is spectacular with Shannon Falls, towering coastal mountains, glacial fiord, etc. Renting a car also enabled us to drive to Horseshoe Bay, the Capilano Suspension Bridge, and Grouse Mountain to check out on our own.

We were most pleased with our hotel selection. This property had it all. We felt most comfortable here. It was our center from which to explore the beautiful city of Vancouver, along with charming Victoria, and Whistler, prior to embarking on our Alaska cruise. It was also more reasonably priced than neighboring properties. I would highly recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have harbor views, others have city views. The higher floors will have better views of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank School's Out 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The customer service at this hotel was exceptional for a North American hotel. It was at par with the service we have come to expect in high end Asian hotels. The room was well appointed and clean and quiet with perfect location.

Green Features: The hotel was very green conscious. Bath amenities were in large format bottles and they offered us discounts to participate in optional additional programs.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear David D,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our guest service here at the Coast Coal Harbour. It is always inspiring to our team to receive validation for the efforts that they make to create outstanding travel experiences.
Have a refreshing day,
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Chic and spacious lobby, friendly reception and valet staff. Cucumber water lovely. Location handy to waterfront and Stanley park.
Big room queen bed very comfy. Toiletries (big containers great!) and towels lovely. No dressing gowns which was a bit disappointing. Swimsuit bag nice touch.
Pool small although still a pool with office blocks all around it, weird to swim and see people working.
Heard little bit of snoring noise from next door on one night, we stayed 4. Gym well equipped.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jemimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved the hotel; stayed 3 nights. Great rate and accommodations especially considering we were in the heart of downtown. Had a wonderful stay with a beautiful skyline view (and a peak of the harbor) from our room. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Restaurant was okay but there are so many eateries in the city I would suggest branching out (especially for the price). We loved The Keg restaurant. We had a rental car but ended up doing a lot of walking from the hotel becaues it was in such a good location. I think we used the rental car 1 day out of the trip. Another good place to eat right across from the hotel was Urban Fare. It's a supermarket that also provides cook to order food. Great breakfast for a reasonable price. I believe it has lunch and dinner offerings as well. Also, hotel felt very safe...no access to rooms or facility without room key card--good feeling when in a "downtown" setting.

Room Tip: Our top floor, corner room had a beautiful panoramic view of the city.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is an environmentally-friendly hotel so they encourage you to recyle towels, bottles, etc. There's an incentive if you choose to have housekeeping cleaning more infrequently.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hbombmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I spent planned to spend our 3rd wedding anniversary in Vancouver and we decided to stay here. As soon as the staff knew about our special day they upgraded us to a higher floor with a harbor view. The room was spacious, clean and modern with huge windows overlooking the water body and Stanley Park. Although there is a building obstructing the view you can still see a part of the water body and the mountains. The bathroom was spacious with a huge bathtub, with large bottles of body wash and shampoo.

The location of the hotel is great, with easy access to restaurants, super market, Stanley park, Olympic Cauldron park, downtown etc. There were plenty of people walking around at night and it felt safe. The hotel premises are even more safe, as you need your hotel card to access the different floors. We had breakfast coupons for the Prestons restaurant from the deal we had purchased. The service and food was good, but options were limited as we are vegetarians.

We drove to Vancouver and we found a way cheaper alternative to the hotel parking - almost half the price and it was only 5-10 mins from the hotel. We weren't planning to use the car much and hence just got a 2 day parking. The staff is really friendly and accomodating, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely stay here every time we are in Vancouver!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pallaviumarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My first time at this Hotel was breadth taking, view of Stanley park, room very hip.my second stay with my hubby, and my sister and her hubby rooms awful, it was like a hotel 8 this section of rooms need some TLC. Unhappy and my sister payed $300 for her room.we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Choose the room looking over to Stanley park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blonde1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,600 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing