We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrific hotel...wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“terrific hotel...wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour is in a relatively quiet area... but very convenient. Only 2-3 blocks from the Convention Center and waterfront; easy walking distance to Gastown going one direction and only a few blocks to busy and active Robson street in another direction. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed in a modern mode---we had a corner room with large windows facing two directions for a bright airy feel. The hotel had a very nice gym and a larger than normal business center for a hotel of its modest size. The relatively small restaurant had an excellent dinner offering--the bartender Chris was friendly and knowledgeable. I have stayed in downtown Vancouver 10+ times, at some of the most premium hotels over the years---and given the choice, I would come back here in a flash, particularly since the price value combination was so good.

Room Tip: try for a corner room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    545
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
366
648
114
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel for three nights. We felt the thought out details in our room were excellent. The location is very conveniently located. The staff were there for us to answer questions and made us feel they cared about our stay. We did not eat in the restaurant. We would definitely choose to stay there again should we ever return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kubafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2014 as part of Grand Canadian Tour. The hotel is extremely modern and the rooms are of a high standard and very clean. Ours had floor to floor windows on two sides.Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is ideal for visiting the waterside area. Shops and restaurants are within easy reach. If needed supermarkets are very close by, one of which has an inexpensive restaurant with a varied menu and large portions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Punt, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed only for one night, but it was great! The lobby, room and pool was very clean, the room was very spacious with a great view and huge window front, bright and modern looking. The bathroom was good, the shower in the bathtub a bit low, but beside that nothing to complain. Friendly staff and good location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was only here for a short stop. Hotel was basic business standard and adequate for my needs. The view from the window was straight into the office block next door. The breakfast was the highlight of my visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotsman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

New, modern, environmentally friendly, great place to stay in Downtown Vancouver. Built in time for the Vancouver Olympics. Close to Stanley park, shopping and much more. Pool and gym :) Highly recommend hotel and their conference rooms for meetings/workshops.

Room Tip: some rooms have large garden terraces - ask which ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Took advantage of an excellent online rate for a 4 night long weekend stay.

As a former neighbourhood resident a view was not critical though a quiet room was. Despite calling ahead to request a refrigerator and QUIET room, this did not happen. Add to that the room climate control (AC) that repeatedly woke me up throughout the night - suffice to say this was not a restful stay. Leaving the window open was not an option due to traffic and trolley bus noise. My reservation also indicated bathrobes were provided in-room – again this was not the case.

On the upside, the hotel location is perfect. Great restaurants, shopping, activities within an easy walk in all directions. I was informed that they have dedicated floors for those travelling with pets. Housekeeping did a superb job, bed linens were wonderful and toiletries were above average. Also have to acknowledge the eco-friendly programs this hotel has in place. In-room complementary wireless a plus (though unsecured). Front desk staff were very friendly though check-in took close to 20 – 25 minutes.
Based on other published reviews, clearly others have had a much better experience. I will not be returning as there are better alternatives in the same area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north/northwest are quieter. Avoid a room facing West Pender St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing