We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay over new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great stay over new year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We really liked our room, the view could have been better (cityscape) but we couldn't complain. Bathroom was excellent and our room was spotless. Only slight issue we had was the ice machine a few doors down from us and being over new year it was being used alot. Lifts down to the lobby did make us feel a bit sick as they tended to lurched when arriving at the designated floor. Gym was great and well equipped. Didn't use the pool but it was outside and very small looking. Hotel was nice and quite in the evenings especially new years eve which was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear WeWantAnotherHoliday,
Thank you for posting your stay review. My apologies for the inconvenience of the ice machine placement and the busy activity around it. Our team of ambassadors are always happy to deliver Ice directly to room upon request.
We look forward to welcoming you back in order to elevate your experience to a five point rating.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    544
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
365
648
114
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a nice hotel with very friendly/accommodating/knowledgeable staff. Our room was nice and clean and I can't say enough about the service. It would have been nice to have a small fridge and also a table with a couple chairs instead of a desk, since we were travelling as a family, but overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenni950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Jenni 950,
What wonderful comments about the service here at the Coast Coal Harbour. Thank you so much for your post.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had a nice and spacious standard double room with twin beds. Enough room to open two large suitcases, good working desk and high speed internet for no extra cost. We had no exciting views, but we were paying for the standard room. Room was always VERY quiet, dark and had a good temperature control. The bathroom also had a good size, good shower and above average amenities. The room could have a fridge, as noted by other travelers. I thought the breakfast offered at a price at their restaurant dowstairs could have more options - anyway, plenty of very good options at no more than a few steps away from the hotel. You can easily walk to some of Vancouver's mais attractions as well as the efficient public transportation system. Somehow I felt the staff a bit cold, never rude or indifferent, but maybe this is because their desk is so far away from the entrance door......I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on business or leisure in Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear chrisBrazil,
Thank you for such a detailed report on your recent stay with us. For the most part it appears that we really impressed you during your travels. I see that you had some concerns regarding the warmth of our ambassadors. Please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly to provide me with feedback that I would be happy to share with our team to assist in our quest for excellence.
Warm regards,
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a newer property, clean and nicely appointed. It's not a true four diamond, more 3.5

Parking is very pricey - more expensive than the convention center 2 blocks away.

Would stay again based on the Hotwire rate!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeowingKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear MeowingKitty,
Thank you for your comments. I see that you have some concerns surrounding your stay and would like an opportunity to speak to you in person to qualify our positioning on both the four diamond rating and our parking rates. Please feel free to reach out to me at your convenience.
Anything that we can do to elevate that 4 point rating to a 5 point we would welcome.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We got this good deal from booking.com and we're very satisfied with it. The hotel and their are all great. We got a free breakfast instead of the valet parking. Our room are clean and smell good. The hotel is close to everything and if you need something,there's an Urban fare groceries close by. They even have a free wifi that the kids love because some hotel close, you have to pay for the wifi connection. I highly recommend this hotel. They have a great staff with a great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pineskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Pineskie,
Thank you for your on-line rating. It's very nice to see that you took advantage of one of our packages offered through either our own website coasthotels.com or through one of our booking partners. We also appreciate the 5 point review - fabulous.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very nice place and a great location, combined with attractive winter pricing made this a great choice for our getaway in Vancouver. We booked through Hotel Club so we also got free valet parking ($38/day normally). Room was upper floor with city view. A few rooms have partial water views. In the upscale Coal Harbour district, one block from the waterfront. Plenty of good choices for dining and lovely strolling in the area.

Room Tip: Check different websites for best pricing...it varies quite a bit. Room numbers ending with 10 are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mblam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear mblam7,
Thank you very much for your detailed comments on your stay and your 5 point rating. I'm confident that our guest will benefit from the travel tips and will be encouraged by the experience that you bring through you extensive rating history.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Coast Coal Harbour in the near future.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The location is excellent with the harbour front practically across the street and is just a few blocks from all the downtown hustle and bustle. As a single female, I felt very safe in the neighborhood, even walking by myself late at night back to the hotel. Vancouver itself is very safe as well. It's a few blocks walk from the skytrain station, but not a bad walk at all. The neighborhood the hotel is in is the business district, so during the day it's busy, but at night it's pretty quiet and empty, but you'll feel completely safe walking to the hotel. I rarely even looked behind me, which is something I always do in the US. The biggest draw of this hotel is the staff. Each and everyone of the staff at this hotel are so friendly, kind, and helpful. Their customer service goes above and beyond. I wish all companies would take a lesson in customer service from the hotel staff here. I was there for a week and they made me feel like this was my home away from home. Always greeted with a smile and given great help with directions and suggestions. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Although I can't remember everyone's names who helped me, I do remember Luiz, Sheron, Jin, David, and Jeremy. These were just a few of the staff who were so great, but really, everyone was great (I just don't remember their names). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Christine H,
Thank you for this outstanding on-line review. Our ambassadors love to be recognized by name and it is rare that great service is acknowledged in such a public forum in this manner.
We look forward to creating a unique, and wonderfully memorable experience for you in the near future upon your return.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing