We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff have gone over and above to make this a wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the staff have gone over and above to make this a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

All staff have been fabulous and very accomodating. I came to meet up with my husband, we had 2 seperate reservations, upon check in, Jeremy was so kind to not only find a room close to my husband's (I was accompanied by our 4 children) he upgraded us to an adjoining Terrace Suite so we could all stay, very comfortably, together. Upon arrival, I had car troubles, the front bellmen were very kind and concerned as I called BCAA to come check and eventually tow away my vehicle to get fixed at a nearby garage. As it took the next day to fix my vehicle before we were to start our journey home to Edmonton, we asked about staying an additional night. Dayna was of particular help, she extended our rate and allowed us to stay in this beautiful terrace suite. The hotel is beautiful, upscale, clean & very comfortable. The bathrooms were well stocked with both full size and travel size toiletries, very nice touch. After this experience, we will definitely make the Coast Coal Harbour our 1st choice when we return to Vancouver!!

Room Tip: If Jeremy, or anyone at the front desk asks you to trust them while they search for a room option fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshliJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear AshliJ,
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your stay with us and in particular, the impact the Jeremy made on your travels. We are thankful to have wonderful ambassadors as part of our Coast Hotels community and enjoy hearing that sentiment reflected in our guests comments.
Please join us again soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    582
    124
    26
    18
See reviews for
399
701
123
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobble Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We came to visit friends who live in Coal Harbour, we got a great rate, an ample room for our needs, lots of windows and really clean and well looked after. I would recommend it and use it again for the same set up. Parking (which we didn't need) is $30+ a day which adds up, would be a limiting factor if we were driving next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Dearcyb,
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor and your excellent rating. We try to stay very competitive with all of our pricing within the market. However, we also have various packages available throughout the year to accommodate various travel needs which can sometimes include parking and/or food and beverage. I invite you to contact the hotel directly when planning your next travel stay with us to explore these options for you.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had an excellent, quiet room, with a north and west view. The north view was across Burrard Inlet, and the west view was into buildings nearby. The hotel is in easywalking distance of transit and SkyTrain, and most downtown locations. It's a new property and well kept up. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: The best views are to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear 416Traveller2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stay at this Hotel regularly due to business. The Hotel staff are excellent, always very cheerful and helpful. The front desk staff and door staff always go out of their way to assist. The rooms are consistently clean and very well decorated/modern for a hotel in this price range. The restaurant and other faciities are excellent. Good location, few blocks to shopping and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mary M,
Thank you for your comments. It is such a delight to see comments posted from a regular travel guest of ours. This speaks to consistency of our delivery and product which is something that we strive for.
I look forward to meeting you personally on a future visit.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is more like a 3 1/2 star. The rooms have very thin walls, pool is located outside but picture makes it look inside, bell staff in nice but clueless about what to recommend, large blue sign on building next door lights up room at night.

Room Tip: Use room77.com to check out room views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear sfmichaela,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on-line. We value feedback posted as it allows us an opportunity to grow and evolve our experiences in our effort to be the downtown Vancouver location of choice. I am sorry to hear that there are concerns that you have expressed that we may not be able to address.
All the best in your future travels.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hard to say its overly good nor average.. Ill say i had a good stay.. People are there to help you for anything you may ask especially my trip was my first time being in Van City.. I heard the restaurant is good.. This location is also close to some more good and affordable ones outside.. I regret renting a car not knowing transit system is perfectly located and parking a car is ubber expensive in that area.. Luckily a friend lend me a spot.. Gym is perfectly layed out with the outdoor pool..Other than that this hotel offer deals sometimes that will beat a 3 star hotel price and knowing this is a 4-4.5 star feel to it..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Ninzm,
Thank you for your review. As we are situated in an outstanding downtown location, and downtown Vancouver parking can be a bit pricey throughout, your comments regarding no need for a car rental is well said.
If there is anything else that we could have done have provided you with a five point rating during your trip, please feel free to reach out to us personally so that we may follow-up.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

In Vancouver on business. Awesome views and great location. The room and facility exceeded my expectations. I didn't try the restaurant but it looked cool and funky (definitely worth trying if traveling with my spouse - I ate across the street at the urban fare market which was great for a more casual vibe for being on my own). I was really impressed at the genuine and evident commitment of the Coast to reducing their environmental footprint which is important to my organization and me. I highly recommend the Coast Coal Harbour.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pomojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Pomojack,
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.
Your observations regarding our restaurant, Preston's, are correct. It is a refreshingly local dining experience and we invite you to check us out when you return.
Please come again soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,608 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing