We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

In Vancouver on business. Awesome views and great location. The room and facility exceeded my expectations. I didn't try the restaurant but it looked cool and funky (definitely worth trying if traveling with my spouse - I ate across the street at the urban fare market which was great for a more casual vibe for being on my own). I was really impressed at the genuine and evident commitment of the Coast to reducing their environmental footprint which is important to my organization and me. I highly recommend the Coast Coal Harbour.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pomojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Pomojack,
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.
Your observations regarding our restaurant, Preston's, are correct. It is a refreshingly local dining experience and we invite you to check us out when you return.
Please come again soon.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have never stayed at a Coast Hotel before and I was pleasantly surprised! I arrived late in the evening and Rachel checked me in and was incredibly friendly and helpful. I asked if I could have a harbour view and she juggled things around to accommodate.

The room was nice clean and modern and I had a great view! I did use the business center to print some documents and it was very well equipped.

Overall a very nice hotel and I would go out of my way to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MADMAC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Madmac3,
Thank you for your great comments. As a first time visitor to the Coast Coal Harbour, we are thrilled to hear that your experience will encourage you to stay with us again and has gained your travel loyalty with out brand.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Great room, parking or breakfast included in great rate,(typical parking downtown Vancouver for overnight is $40) upgraded us to a corner room on upper floor with Harbour view. Room is spaciousI (300 Sq. Ft.) with modern lav. Very quite and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. A great short or long term option for downtown Vancouver vacation or business. PS. Free wifi in room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Jason E,
You have posted great comments about your stay with us, thank you very much for those. We would also love to hear how we could have achieved a five point rating, or how to achieve that in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly.
Enjoy your travels.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Been a long time since I stayed at a Coast hotel, but I will be coming back. Nice clean modern hotel. Beautiful rooms. Amazing staff. All around great experience. The breakfast in the hotel was also great (the restaurant is called Preston's) but a couple of minor niggles regarding some special requests that were not met and some curdled milk/cream for the coffee. However overall experience was a 9/10 and would have been 10 but for minor issues at restaurant. Me: I stay in hotels for business between 12-20 times annually for the last 12-13 years.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water - a bit of a tight view through office buildings but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suburbansnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Suburbansnob,
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and restaurant. I have followed up with the team in Prestons regarding your F&B feedback and I apologize that it wasn't perfect for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Coast Coal Harbour. My husband's company held their annual Christmas party in one of the banquet rooms and it was wonderful! The view was gorgeous! The hotel itself was beautifully decorated for the season, the staff so professional and helpful. Food at the buffet was plentiful, hot and delicious!
This is going to become an annual tradition for my husband and I!

Room Tip: Go straight to the top! 20th floor was amazing! Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for allowing us to host your holiday celebrations. These are the kinds of traditions we love to be a part of.
Hopefully there will be occasions for you to join us again before your party next year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is great, view of Stanley park just beautiful, resturant in hotel is delicious
Love this hotel.
. Then the next day went to Stanley park .
I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting vancouver.

Room Tip: Avoid the room close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blonde1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Blonde1201,
Thank you for your wonderful comments surrounding your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A birthday gift from my wife and it hit all the spots.Thanks to Salomon for the extra touch for my birthday .

Hotel modern and fresh. Small space but in downtown close to all. Waking distance to all of my to do lists. Everyone at hotel was professional.

Room Tip: Nice choice ....ask for 16 floor view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgntexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear dgntexas,
Thank you for writing your positive travel feedback for us to review. I would love an opportunity to discuss with you what would move that 4 point rating to a 5 point rating. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to share specific growth opportunities from your stay.
All the best.
k

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $130 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing