We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently visited Vancouver for our one year wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Coast Coal. Boy were we impressed! First off, we got there a few hours before check-in time, but our awesome check-in gal, Rachel, got us a corner room on the top floor any way! What a great start to our trip! Thinking things couldn't get any better, we got a nice surprise a few nights into our trip when Rachel sent up a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Superstar status! She really kicked butt and made us feel at home. I also talked to a few other front desk folks to get directions and each time, they were super nice and helpful. Maybe it's the Canadian people, but I got some of the best service at a hotel in quite some time.

The hotel is very clean and there is free wifi which is pretty fast. The views from our room were great. Locationwise, it's a few blocks from the harbor which makes for great romantic walks at night. Stanley Park is like 10 mins away as is the Waterfront train station. Robson is also near by as is the West End area which has great Japanese restaurants like Sushi Mart and Kingyo. You can catch the train from Waterfront train station to Richmond, a city south of Vancouver that has a large Chinese population including shopping and restaurants (better than going to Chinatown).

Just as a tip, you can catch the Skytrain from the airport to the Waterfront train station for $8 ($2.75 or so coming back). From there, it's a short walk or a $6 cab ride.

We absolutely loved our stay at Coast Coal and will be coming back hopefully next year to continue our exploration of Vancouver which is a great city, but we experienced a few rainy days during our trip.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are worth it. Try to get the corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PuristDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Congratulations and thank you so much for choosing our Hotel to celebrate your special occasion! We are truly happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your kind comments about Rachel are greatly appreciated and I will share them with pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    572
    122
    25
    18
See reviews for
388
690
122
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Here on business and had a superb room with a king bed. Very clean and modern room with free Wi-Fi. Although wet and rainy, the view of the harbor was fantastic!
The front desk and bell staff were extremely helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions.

When I came into my room, a few minutes later the front desk called to check if all was to my satisfaction.
hey even supplied umbrellas for your use when walking to the Convention Center and back.

Prestons, the restaurant/bar located in the hotel had wonderful food for the price with a great bartender that took care of myself and my group. (Thanks Chris!)

I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felvis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
And we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words about our Hotel and Chris, I will gladly share the review with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, great hotel for business or tourists, business people will appreciate the efficient service and business suite. We as tourists appreciated a comfortable clean efficient place to stay while we were seeing the sights of Vancouver. Staff were friendly and very helpful, one small glitch in the restaurant: they missed out our starters serving the mains first, then offered a free dessert, as an apology, the dessert offered was free anyway, so this was a bit of an insult!

Room Tip: Pay for a view or ask for an upgrade, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the glitch in the restaurant, I am hoping that you will be back so that we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I travel for business a LOT and stay in hotels about 100 nights each year all over BC. When I am in Vancouver I stay at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.

From the front desk staff to the valets to the housekeeping staff ...everyone is helpful, cheerful and actually remember my name.

The rooms are comfortable and always very clean. The location is perfect and the views are beautiful.

This is definitely my favourite hotel in the province!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, we are thrilled to be your “home away from home”. We love to hear when a guest has such a great stay that they can't wait to return and we hope it isn't long until we can welcome you back to your favourite Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for just one night after flying into Vancouver. Well located in downtown Vancouver with a superb organic food market 2 minutes away (they also do excellent breakfasts). Excellent service from the word go. Ron, in the lobby, was most helpful and welcoming giving us advice about what to do, where to go, which turned out to be so appropriate.
Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable with a super view over the harbour. Would willingly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share. All our Ambassadors have a good knowledge of the city and Ron is certainly a professional when it comes to getting around. Your kind comments will be gladly shared with him and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Here for business and found the rooms clean, newer and comfortable. Good shower and water pressure, free wifi is appreciated. Good value for the cost, with the fab location, 7 minute walk to Robson street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,707 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views and well located to enjoy the beautiful city of Vancouver. Stanley Park in close proximity, as famous Robson Street. Many of the fine restaurants in Vancouver are close. Like Armold Scwartenegger "i be back".

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,238 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,510 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing