We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of our trip around Canada.
At the time of booking we had mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary and requested a nice room for our stay. Upon arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade to 1 of the top level rooms (910) which had full length glass windows on both sides with absolutely amazing views over the harbour.
The room was incredibly spacious and immaculate.
The gym and outdoor pool and hot tub were also very good and we used the pool and hot tub most evenings.
The hotel is in a great location, just across the street from the harbour and only a 5/10 minute walk from the entrance to Stanley park.

The only slight negative I would say is that the lifts are incredibly noisy as they move up and down the building. There was no noise from people getting in and out of the lifts but the constant noise of it travelling up the building did keep me awake at night. However we found that leaving the air con on and extractor fan in the bathroom hid most of this. If you aren't a light sleeper then it wouldnt be a problem.

Despite this we had such a wonderful time here that we would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 of the higher level rooms for the best views and no obstruction from other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Once again, congratulations on behalf of the entire Coast Coal Harbour team, we wish you a lifetime of good health and happiness! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    534
    116
    24
    18
See reviews for
348
635
112
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here to be near the water and Stanley Park. We were only here for two nights and would have loved to stay longer. The room was comfortable and clean with a good size clean bathroom. The beds were comfortable and had good quality linen. Service was helpful and friendly. We walked a lot to see the harbour and Stanley Park. There are good views from the hotel, we had a partial view of the water and mountains. I would definitely stay here again. With limited time we did a tour of Capilano Swing Bridge and Grouse Mountain to see a bit more of Vancouver and this was enjoyable and worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandGopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are happy to see that you liked our city and Hotel. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for staff that care about their guests look no further then this hotel. They could teach customer service to other chains. This level of service is only coupled with the value you receive in the rooms and the ammenities the hotel offers its guests. I had the pleasure of staying for 5 days and would highly recommend this location to anyone traveling to the Vancouver area.
Thank you for making my stay such a pleasureable experience

Room Tip: Corner suites are excellent, floor to ceiling windows..some with amazing views and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us! Thank you for the recommendation and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were just staying for one night, mostly looking for a convenient place to stay near the port for our cruise departure. This was a nice solid hotel and we were pleased for the price we paid and the service we received. If you are looking for a five star luxury stay this may not be the ticket, but it served our needs well. Friendly staff, we will return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank time2travel916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only 1 night before leaving on a Cruise to Alaska. We flew in by float plane from Victoria that day and were very pleasantly surprised to find that it was only a 2 block (albiet uphill) walk from the float plane terminal.

The hotel had kindly allowed us to store most of our luggage there for 3 nights before our arrival, which was a huge help to us as we were able to travel lightly out to the Gulf Islands and didn't have to take all our luggage with us.

Check in staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a choice of rooms.

The room was standard for most hotels of this price range, large enough, comfortable and spotless. The bathroom was quite large. The bed very comfortable and very little noise filtered in from the hallways and common areas, so sleep quality was very good. I like the fact that this hotel is "green" and guests are urged to use the recycling bins provided in each room.

The next morning we left, on foot with all our luggage and walked to the Canada Place and the Cruise Ship Terminal. The location for us was perfect.

This was our first time staying in this hotel chain and I was impressed. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Fabulous to hear that we contributed to your pleasant vacation, we appreciate you taking the time to write the review and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely recommend the hotel. The location is good - only a few minutes away from the waterfront/shops/restaurants and about 15 minutes stroll to Stanley Park. The bed/bedding/towels were first rate with very good quality toiletries and a great shower. Additional bonus was a free safe in the room and also excellent (free) Wi-Fi access. The room also had coffee percolator and a kettle with decent beverages. You will need your room key to use the ice machines, which are only on certain floors. The room key is also necessary to go up in the lift (not required when coming back down). Good security. In the time we were there, the housekeeping was checked twice ensuring standards are maintained. Would stay here like a shot if ever we returned to Vancouver. Thanks for a fabulous stay. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We hope you do return to Vancouver soon! We are really happy to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you for the review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were not expecting the folks here to be so personable and attentive. Usually when we get a room at a downtown hotel, the front desk people operate in a mandatory "nice" and robotic way. Not the case here.They excelled at being "real" and meeting our every need and requests. Our room was also well appointed, comfortable, and quiet. We didn't hear any hall noise or street sounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanPGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing