We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location, entrances on two separate streets was really convenient
Clean, nice pool and hot tub
I wouldn't spend the extra $$ on the upgrade
Upgraded room was pretty barren of furniture to make it feel homely for extended stays!

Room Tip: waterfront views obviously
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    582
    124
    26
    18
See reviews for
401
702
123
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for value and exceptional services.Front Desk was very helpful in defections to Horseshoe Bay by delivering sheldue a to room. Had a problem with entry room card and front desk came up to room to make sure that card worked after she rebooted it. ( I believe it demagnify from magnets in my purse) The hotel is locate a block from the water front and a boutique grocery store along the way therefore indulging a coffee to take to shoreline to watch runners on the waterwall in the morning was very relaxing way to awake to the City. My daughter a runner participated a run in the morning as there are many safe routes near by.I love the location of this hotel and the spacious lobby. I am from the country and really did not feel 'the rat race' of a city by staying here .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AurumJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation. Hopefully we had some good weather to accompany your coffee by the water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were most pleased by the wonderful location of the hotel. It is a short walk to the waterfront, Stanley Park and all the shops. The check in was very smooth and the staff was very friendly. The room furnishing was modern and we were happy to have a partial water view though we did not expect one. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The restaurant in the hotel has decent food and great ambience. If you are looking for a pleasant, upscale hotel without the unnecessary frills (e.g. microwave and refrigerator) and a great location, I would recommend the Coast Coal Harbour. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in April and the staff were delightful, from check in to check out. The restaurant servers were very good, breakfest turned into a two hour business meeting and we were never once made to feel rushed. That same space transforms to a lunch and dinner spot as well as a nice cozy lounge with a nice selection of sprirts and beer. The proximity to the waterfront is a big bonus as you can walk to the Vancouver Convention Center with ease as well the proxity to the Sky Trains including the Canada line. If you are wanting to visit the North Shore the Sea Bus terminal is a short walk also it lets you off at Lonsdale Quay a great little market spot with interesting litte shops and fresh products vendors.

The hotel room itself was very clean nicely appointed for a hotel and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are larger the the basic and I would recommend the added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We very much appreciate your review; it is nice to see that you enjoyed our city and the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I was in town for the Vancouver Marathon. We chose it because it was downtown and conveniently located by the finish line but had no idea what phenomenal customer service we'd receive! When we checked in, the frost desk associates were extremely friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their job. During our stay we asked the front desk staff various questions ranging from the subway, to bike rentals in Stanley Park, to kayaking, to the best ice cream shops downtown. They always excitedly gave us recommendations, directions, and coupons. One of the associates even went so far as to print us directions to her personal favorite kayaking destination. Our maid was also extremely friendly and always cheerily greeted us in the hallway every morning. And...one day in the elevator I was greeted by a man who was working and he offered me a bottle of water and a piece of chocolate from the boxes on his palette. I have never stayed in a hotel with employees who as friendly and as helpful as the employees as Coast Coal Harbour. The rooms were also extremely clean and up-to-date. This is the best city city overall hotel experience I've had - and I travel a lot!

Helpful?
Thank VoyageHopper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We only had one night in Vancouver. Booked this via Hotwire, and couldn't have been more pleased. We arrived via cruise ship on a Sunday morning. Since our ship arrived at Ballantyne instead of Canada Place, I had worried needlessly about an expensive cab ride. It was less than $10. Also had no problem checking in before 10am! We got lucky because they didn't appear to be too busy. Maybe because it was a Sunday in May? Anyway, we were very grateful!

We found this hotel to be friendly, spotless and we loved that it is so green-friendly. Thankfully, I had read on line that king rooms are upgrades here (whether you've booked through a site like Hotwire or just straight-out)...so I knew not to get uptight about it. Our double room was just fine, and the beds were very comfortable.

Having never been to Vancouver before, we knew nothing about what kind of location we needed or wanted. Worried way too much about it beforehand. This location was GREAT. If we had arrived via Canada Place, we could have even walked here if we wanted to. We did indeed walk everywhere.

TIP: Look up the "Tour Guys"...they do FREE walking tours. We met up at a nearby fountain at 11am for the tour of the day, which was, in our case, a tour of Chinatown. Awesome! Robson Street is within easy walking distance, as is the GasTown area. I'm sure there were many more as well, but we only had one day so we couldn't discover them all.

If you happen to be at this nice hotel on a Sunday night as we were, be sure to check out Preston's restaurant/bar. We had already eaten or we would have tried the food because it looked good...but we did enjoy the bar, and Sunday night was the night to do so due to great drink specials! If you run into ridiculously expensive wine in Canada like I did, you will LOVE the Sunday night $6.00 wine special!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our city and the Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our recent stay at the Coast Coal Harbour hotel was FANTASTIC! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a genuine "How may I help you!" The staff throughout the hotel were amazing, but a shout out to Gustavo and Jeremy at the Front Desk! Amazing. You took your time to tell us about the hotel, and help out two very lost girls navigate downtown Vancouver! The food at the restaurant is great, totally recommend eating there!

Location is great, just a short walk to the Harbour and Gastown. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room was beautiful with the floor to ceiling windows and lovely view of the harbour. Decor is well thought out, fresh, light and clean. The staff is always willing to help with whatever it is you need. Don't have to wait in line either, someone is right there to step in an help out.

Can not say enough great things about this place. Will stay again for sure!

Room Tip: As for a corner room if possible. View is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clynn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Great to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you so much for the review and the kind words about our Ambassadors. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,556 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,616 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing