We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is nice, but there are countless other really nice hotels within the same area of Vancouver. Do not pay $40 for parking, since on street parking is pretty available. We paid in advance via Expedia and were surprised to learn that if you pay by debit card the hotel charges at $250 security deposit upon check in. I hope that's in your budget. They will return it after you wait in the lobby while they check your room. It's anything but a nice getaway. Stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CKECM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
Hotel, we are certainly disappointed to hear that your stay was not all that it could
have been. The parking charge which we priced competitively is for valet service and our lot is secured. The valet only option was chosen as it prevents anyone from accessing our lot which we find makes it more secure. We hope that in our guests eyes security is an important attribute. There are certain security deposit policies in place in our Hotel and to our knowledge they are pretty standard and no different than anywhere else.
We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful city of Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel to spend some time in downtown Vancouver for the first time. The hotel is in a great location on Coal Harbor, walking distance to the Canada Center and several restaurants/bars. You can also walk down to the sea wall to take in the views and head around to Stanley Park. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful in making recommendations during our stay.

The one downside to this hotel was the noise level in the room. It could be because we ended up with an adjoining room by the elevators, however we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door, including being woken up by screaming children and another couple the next evening... I see others have had the same complaint so I would suggest requesting a non-adjoining room that isn't by the elevators to get a good night's sleep, hopefully that would help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

It is nice to see that you enjoyed our city and the Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback, we will certainly look into the noise issue in the adjoining rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We came here with a group for a conference. There were no mistakes, everything was as offered, the people were great. Booking the rooms for a group with varied schedules was very well done. Everything was right the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for the review and feedback, good to see that your conference went well and your stay with us was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at this property for one night before travelling to Portland. The staff upon checkin were very friendly and welcoming. We were provided with a comfort room on the 16th floor. The room's decor was modern but very basic, the room was decorated in shades of white, cream and greys which was nice but a little plain for me. The bathroom was large and included a large vanity and the whole room was spotless, probably one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. I always inspect the room before unpacking and it I could tell that the housekeeping staff do an outstanding job! We used the pool and hot tub which was refreshing, the pool is small but the hottub was a good size. The location was also good, within a short walk to Robson shopping and restaurants. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting Vancouver who is looking for a nice new and modern place to stay that is not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haybri2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed Feb 2 and 3, 2013 and found the hotel to be clean, great location for walking along the boardwalk to Stanley Park, English Bay etc. Also close to stores lots of eating places. I do recommend having breakfast at DeDutch just 5 min walk overlooking the seaplane terminal. Good front desk staff as very helpful with any questions we had. Used Hotwire for the rate was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed our beautiful city of Vancouver and our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel was excellent a great room with ha grey view of the harbour and he mountains.good location to get round the city as there is a lot too see. Make sure you have enough change for the buses
Hotel staff were very good as was the room service very prompt and food was off a good quality


Stayed: February 2013
Thank Adhoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

It is nice to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was great to stay at. The staff in all areas of the hotel are friendly, helpful and well presented. The hotel itself is very clean but warm and inviting. Beautiful decor. The restaurant Prestons was amazing. The food and service was the best I've ever had. I would not hesitate to come back or recommend to someone else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy see that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $129 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing