We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Value for Money”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is clean. The location is just by Coal Harbour- great if you're coming in to or getting out of Vancouver by float plane, or a few blocks away from the train station if you're taking the Skytrain from the airport. The wifi is free, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to be rooms away from group or family travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    561
    121
    25
    18
See reviews for
378
670
119
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We got an offer through groupon for this hotel, it was pretty good overall, comfortable bed, clean, good service. Since Vancouver is pricey, we thought that the groupon deal was Ok, the hotel is really close to Granville island and Cypress Mountain (with regular traffic). Overall good stay, would stay there again if we found a good deal during the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svalle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Great to see that you liked the Hotel, we appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Coast Coal Hotel as part of a groupon deal. Our room was very nice and modern. Our view was not as great as expected- our view was looking into an office building! The hotel is very close to the convention center. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Janeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for just a night on a quick trip to Vancouver. The beds were very comfortable, the room was modern and clean. We enjoyed the outdoor heated pool and hot tub. This area was the highlight of our stay. It was spacious and there were restrooms with a shower, lockers, and fresh towels conveniently located by the pool area.
Jeremy was the concierge downstairs when we checked in. He was very accommodating and patient, answering all of our many many questions.
We would definitely stay here again, hopefully on a longer trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissia_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to see that you had a good stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is central and if you select your room carefully has great views, quiet, a good restaurant, lovely decor. Only the Loden, Fairmont Pacific Rim and Fairmont Waterfront can compete for value and service. We stayed Christmas day and were given an early check-in and a late check out.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room between the 15th and 17th floor. The higher floor are noisy and the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goliath5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate your review and the room tips; it is nice to see that you enjoyed our city and the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Didn't know there were suites available and the one I stayed at was great....lots of space, separate sitting area and large bathroom with separate shower stall. As usual, friendly and efficient staff. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay in downtown Vancouver. A Gem in the Rough of downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Great to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you for the review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The furniture i new and the view side ocean and city is quite nice
but the bathtub is old even if efforts are made to make it look new...

i did not like the 3 waste bins for recycle in the middle of the room
the room is large and the bed good to sleep in really good sleep quality

the bathroom need kind of lifting
but very good value

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARISFRIEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Director of Operations at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the review and valuable feedback. The reason for the three recycling bins in the room is that we are an environmentally friendly hotel, striving to keep atop of the latest trends in an effort to make our guests comfortable and at the same time, working towards a carbon footprint free hotel. We have a zero waste management policy for the entire hotel, nothing goes to the landfill, we use biodegradable cleaning supplies and local and organic food products are identified and used as much as possible. This is why our Hotel has a Green Key rating of 4 out of 5. The building itself is only three years old and we make every effort to keep up with the day to day maintenance. Thank you again, we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,160 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing