We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists in our own city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tourists in our own city”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were greeted with a very friendly front desk clerk.
She advised us at check in that we had been up graded to a suite with a King bed and a floor to ceiling view on 2 sides on the 16th floor......the view was awesome
This hotel was very cleanand spacious rooms also had a great restaurant just off the lobby.
We were within walking distance of Stanley Park and Gastown. Walked the entire sea wall around the park which was beautiful as well as the weather which was a real bonus for October.
really enjoyed our stay at the Coast Coal Harbour and would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 16th floor over looked Coal Harbour on one side and Stanley park on the other. Ocean and mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is great to get to know your own city from a Tourist’s perspective! Thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic (Mr.)
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    561
    121
    25
    18
See reviews for
378
670
119
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business. The staff are excellent - they really are service oriented. The hotel is well laid out - eveything is easy to find and accessible. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. A short 3 or 4 block walk away and you are Vancouver's famous Robson Street with all its shops or in the other direction, on the waterfront looking at North Vancouver. Room rate was very reasonable as the hotel is just on the edge of downtown, but still easy tto get everywhere from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is nice to see that your stay with us was enjoyable, thank you for the review.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic (Mr.)
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything is great here! Friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms, nice breakfast place (with good food and friendly staff), and it's the perfect place for those who are bringing their dogs 'coz it's a dog-friendly hotel. The environment is also great with the hotel close to the water. For food, Urban Fare (supermarket) and 7-11 are just around the corner. And it's just a 10-minute walk to the heart of downtown. Definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in upper levels will get a better view of Coal Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytourist098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and for recommending our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Clean, Comfortable, Quiet!!!! On business for two days on a conference and enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Staff were amazing and helpful, room was very clean, and i must have had one of the most comfy beds ever when staying away from home. Close to everything and there is a visitors information center close by. The fitness center and pool were nice and clean. I recommend this hotel for everyone!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you had a good stay with us and are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I happened to get this hotel through Hotwire after looking on BetterBidding to figure out what hotel I would get in Vancouver. It was $400 for 3 nights. A great deal. This hotel served my purposes perfectly. It's nearly new and not necessarily the most fancy hotel in the world but very modern.

This hotel is in the ideal part of town for going other places. There's a great coffee shop (Waves) and a 7-11 within half a block behind the hotel. You can get bus passes at the 7-11 which was very convenient. It was a bit of a walk to Stanley Park but I rented a bike when I got there from Spokes Bike Rentals. The only downside of the location is its quite a walk from the City Center Light Rail station to the hotel... I can walk, though... so no biggie.

Room Tip: I ended up with a corner room facing the city. It was nice enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloEverything1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, nice to see that you enjoyed the beautiful city of Vancouver and our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was so clean, the room was beautiful with a view that was stunning, it was so clean, it looks brand new, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, they made sure our stay was inviting. I would recommend if you have anything to do on the city to stay here, and it's also just one block from the seawall , which is the most georgeous walk,(we rented bikes and biked around stanley park)the staff helped us with that too. Awesome hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy see that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslinjgen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Overall the hotel is really a good pick in downtoan Vancouver. The location is really central, it is just a 5 minute walk and you are in the shoping district or down at the sea. Few more minutes bring you to Stanley park or to the train station. Staff is really friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean, I loved the shower gel and shampoo. The pool area is tiny but the gym is a decent size with good quality equipment. There are only two main negative points, even though we had a room far away from the elevator you could hear it going up and down all the time. And there is no fridge in the room, so also no minibar. The kingsize bed was supposed to be an additional cost, we got the "upgrade" free of charge. Overall I would recommend it and stay there as well, although I think 3 days Vancouver will be sufficient for the next years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjaintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeshaMilicevic, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Because we are a very environmentally conscious and friendly Hotel we chose not to have fridges in our rooms in order to conserve energy, however, we do have a few available for special requests.

Sincerely,

Nesha Milicevic
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing