We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best view in vancouver...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

ask for room 1910... a corner room with floor to ceiling windows with an incredible view.... same view as the Westin Bayshore but without the hefty price... nice clean room, tasteful muted decor,verry comfy bed... i would stay there again....

Room Tip: corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,746 - 1,752 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I will preface this by stating that I felt the staff at this hotel was very nice and accomodating. My problem was with the rooms. I showed up and they upgraded me to a room with a balcony - while in theory this sounds good, in reality is it not. The problem with the balconys is they butt right up to the other room next to it with a balcony. So you can hear the neighbors very well - too well. I asked to move rooms.

They then put me in a 'regular' room - and to be kind, this was basically a Holiday Inn type room. There was no couch, no desk, and it just felt dumpy. I stayed one night and left. It is ridicoloulsly overpriced for a room of this quality. I seriously paid $40 more and stayed at Four Seasons rest of trip, which obviously is much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first time to Vancouver and I am so glad I picked Coast Coal Harbour. Convenient to Stanley Park, the Convention, Downtown, everything! Staff was incredibly friendly and kind. Appliances were great and TVs were huge. My room had a nice sitting area with an incredible view. Loved the hotel's commitment to the environment. Bed linens were good quality and nicely pressed. Good storage and all the amenities you would need -- iron, hair dryer, toiletries, coffee maker etc. Plenty of outlets. I had 2 breakfasts and one dinner at Prestons, the restaurant in the hotel and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend the Coast Coal Harbour in Vancouver and am looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastcoastgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left we were taken care of. Every single staff member was polite and happy to accommodate us. I really enjoyed walking into our room and seeing a nice view right away. The art work was pleasant. Tv was a little small but we never used it anyway. Everything was very clean and had a sharp finish. Bathroom was beautiful! Love the counter top. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Almost as good as mine at home! Had such a good sleep on that bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laranova4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is very attractive in its design, being bright, spacious and modern. We were very pleased with our room which was tastefully furnished and immaculately clean. The bed linens were very good quality and crisply ironed. There was ample storage space for clothes, and the bathroom was spacious, modern and - again - very clean. We had dinner and breakfast at Prestons, the restaurant in the hotel, and were delighted with the quality of the food and the excellent service. In fact, the staff throughout the hotel excelled in professional, friendly, and effective service. We definitely recommend the Coast Harbour in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelDuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on business and was treated very well by the staff, had a good breakfast daily in the restaurant, and had a nice, clean room. Location was great. I would not hesitate to stay there again when traveling to Vancouver.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The Coast Coal was our first destination after a 10 hour flight. It was perfect - the lady at reception was welcoming, friendly and had good knowledge of the area. The room was spacious, modern and immaculate. The location is fantastic, a short walk down to the harbor in a lovely part of the city.

We had a great stay at the Coast Coal Harbor hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $150 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing