We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean hotel, small rooms, tiny bathroom, no-frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New, clean hotel, small rooms, tiny bathroom, no-frills hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I see that this hotel is getting some good reviews. I can sort of see why.
Got this hotel via Hotwire for 2 nights. The location is pretty good, though a good brisk walk to Robson. Too long of a walk to Yale Town to catch the Aqua Bus.
The staff is very friendly and is not icy towards Hotwire folks :)

We were given a room on the 8th floor with a big office building facing us. Still not a bad city view. We imagine the other side would have a lovely view of the water.
*This is a very new hotel so it is clean (Did have to wipe off a tiny stain on bathroom wall).
*The room is fairly small, especially if you get 2 double beds.
*The bathroom is TINY. No counter space to put your makeup tote.
*No mini bar, this is a no-frills Coast Hotel chain.
*Hotwire says 4 stars, it is 3.5 stars at best.
*Beds were small, but comfortable. Sheets pretty soft.
*Good coffee in the room (Terrafazione)
*Not a bad deal for Hotwire.
*Pool is outdoors, tiny with a hot tub. Heated year around.
*Decent workout equipment
Would not want to stay here again, too small. OK if traveling alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view, higher floor. Parking is expensive as with all other hotels. No self park. Vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desert_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    561
    121
    25
    18
See reviews for
378
670
119
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We got to the hotel easily from the airport via Skytrain/local line to Burrard then a short walk. We decided to stop over in Vancouver before heading to Whistler just to catch our breathe and recover after a very long travel time involving a couple of flights. Ended up really enjoying our stay. Clean room, comfortable bed, good shower and lovely staff. We got a great rate online and it wasn't too much more to upgrade to a King room with a view at check-in. We usually like a small refrigerator in our room, but we were easily able to get ice and everything else was so good we really didn't mind not having one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is a gem. The staff, from the doorman to the checkout agent, are patient and very oriented to providing exceptional service and making a positive impression. Eager to please, professional and efficient, they create an oasis of true service in an industry that often fails to meet expectations.
On arrival, the doorman was quick to open the cab door and welcome us to the hotel. He took charge of removing our belongings from the trunk and had sufficient time to even open my door before I could complete payment of the cab fare. He waited patiently until I was ready to exit the cab and, noting that we had limited luggage, offered assistance with the bags instead of assuming complete control of them.
Next, my check-in went quickly and flawlessly. The agent met me with a welcoming smile as I approached her and appeared to be genuinely pleased that she could settle me into the hotel and answer any questions I might have.
I asked how I might arrange a wake-up call and she quickly took it upon herself to ensure that I need not do anything else. Many other 4 star hotels often provide you with procedures to obtain a wake-up call from your room instead.
The lobby is well-maintained, spacious, and tastefully decorated in warm tones. The elevators are roomy and very efficient. Before you even realise it, the door opens and you're on your floor.
My room was a corner room on the 12th? floor. There was more than enough room (for two) to get comfortable in. Nothing was out of place in the room and there was no evidence that someone had previously stayed here. It was pristine and the air was fresh. The room also had all of the amenities that a traveller might need; and some that are not always found in 4-star accomodation. I chose one of the double beds in the room for the night and found it just a tad firm to my liking. It didn't occur to me to play Goldilocks and try the other bed. I wouldn't be surprised if the other was less firm, though I'm speculating based on overall impressions.
My colleague called me from her room to meet her as we'd decided to have dinner at Prestons, the hotel's restaurant.
On arrival at Prestons, more smiling, friendly faces to greet you and settle you into your table without delay. Prestons looks to be an upscale restaurant. Though well lit, the ambience is welcoming and likely more suitable to a business dinner than a quiet/romantic dinner. That said, I would have no hesitation to celebrate a romantic dinner with my wife. The restaurant is large enough that there are likely quiet corners available.
The service was professional, yet warm. Alisha (forgive the spelling if its wrong) eased my normal reservations about any unfamiliar restaurant immediately. She devoted herself to helping me though my selections of unfamiliar ales and wines, appetizers, mains, and desserts. There was a lot of choice in both appetizers and mains, and ultimately, though regretfully, I could only manage one of each. I was already cursing my next day early evening departure which would deny me the opportunity to sample other delights on the menu. Alisha continued to appear throughout the evening at opportune times, to ensure that the evening would be memorable for not only the quality of the food, but the generosity of her service.
The next morning, I opted for the buffet breakfast instead of the, a la carte. There was ample choice of freshly-prepared American breakfast items (the stick to you stomach fare) and the normal continental items such as croissants, breads, cereals and yogurts. I sampled a little of most items including one smallish almond croissant which was the highlight of breakfast. It was reminiscent of some of the better croissants I've tasted in France.
I'm hopeful that I won't be waiting another 33 years until my next visit to Vancouver as I'd like to revisit this establishment. I heartily recommend this hotel and its restaurant. From my experience, the staff's DNA doesn't permit them to disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Wearytraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed two nights in the Coast Coal Harbour hotel in Vancouver and I have to say, this is a really beautiful hotel. I had a nice room on the 19th floor with a view on the marina. Huge glass fronts. The rooms are very spacious and nice chosen style of furniture. should you ever travel to Vancouver, I can only recommend this hotel. The only minus point was the restaurant. I ordered breakfast on the room. And she forgot the half and brought tea instead of coffee... that was a big minus point. Quality of Dinner there was bad as well. But that doesn't really matter, as in the surrounding are plenty of nice restaurants.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ThiesHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of Stanley Park, the Harbour, downtown shopping, great coffee shops, the West End and Robson Street. In other words, there is a lot to do near this hotel that does not require a car. I was here for business and took the Skytrain from the airport and it was a less than 10 minute walk from the terminus to the hotel. Reception checking in was efficient and friendly. The next morning, the front desk was busy so the hotel manager came along and looked after me when he saw a bit of a wait. The room was very comfortable.

In the room, the wireless internet was reasonably good although a bit slow with streaming (not much of a complaint)

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience traveling with our dog to Vancouver for a long weekend followed by a conference for me at the convention center. Hotel staff were terrific - very welcoming and friendly to us and our dog. We had a king-size room with a water view (#616), wonderful views of the water and the mountains and ski area across the water (night skiing lights were an interesting sight). Our room was spacious, with plenty of room for the dog bed and other personal items, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom nicely appointed. All looked clean and new..

The hotel is just a block away from the waterfront park, where many local dog-owners walk and run with their dogs. And just 4 or 5 blocks up Bute Street, is an off leash dog park with some of the world's best-behaved dogs! We met great people there too, who gave us the best restaurant recommendations (especially Simba on Denman Street). To sum it up, Vancouver is a great walkable city with fantastic food and friendly people, and the Coast Coal Harbor is a perfect place to stay with your dog.

Room Tip: Water views are best, corner rooms are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a large, modern hotel with comfortable rooms and good views.
You can't really beat the location and it's a good hotel for business and leisure travel. Beds are comfortable and the room features are up to date. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing