We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed two nights in the Coast Coal Harbour hotel in Vancouver and I have to say, this is a really beautiful hotel. I had a nice room on the 19th floor with a view on the marina. Huge glass fronts. The rooms are very spacious and nice chosen style of furniture. should you ever travel to Vancouver, I can only recommend this hotel. The only minus point was the restaurant. I ordered breakfast on the room. And she forgot the half and brought tea instead of coffee... that was a big minus point. Quality of Dinner there was bad as well. But that doesn't really matter, as in the surrounding are plenty of nice restaurants.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ThiesHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    544
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
365
648
114
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of Stanley Park, the Harbour, downtown shopping, great coffee shops, the West End and Robson Street. In other words, there is a lot to do near this hotel that does not require a car. I was here for business and took the Skytrain from the airport and it was a less than 10 minute walk from the terminus to the hotel. Reception checking in was efficient and friendly. The next morning, the front desk was busy so the hotel manager came along and looked after me when he saw a bit of a wait. The room was very comfortable.

In the room, the wireless internet was reasonably good although a bit slow with streaming (not much of a complaint)

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience traveling with our dog to Vancouver for a long weekend followed by a conference for me at the convention center. Hotel staff were terrific - very welcoming and friendly to us and our dog. We had a king-size room with a water view (#616), wonderful views of the water and the mountains and ski area across the water (night skiing lights were an interesting sight). Our room was spacious, with plenty of room for the dog bed and other personal items, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom nicely appointed. All looked clean and new..

The hotel is just a block away from the waterfront park, where many local dog-owners walk and run with their dogs. And just 4 or 5 blocks up Bute Street, is an off leash dog park with some of the world's best-behaved dogs! We met great people there too, who gave us the best restaurant recommendations (especially Simba on Denman Street). To sum it up, Vancouver is a great walkable city with fantastic food and friendly people, and the Coast Coal Harbor is a perfect place to stay with your dog.

Room Tip: Water views are best, corner rooms are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a large, modern hotel with comfortable rooms and good views.
You can't really beat the location and it's a good hotel for business and leisure travel. Beds are comfortable and the room features are up to date. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Coast Coal Harbour is my home away from home when I am in Downtown Vancouver. The rooms are spacious, free WiFi, a business centre to print documents as required and a great restaurant for all three meals. Conference facilities are excellent and the staff at all levels are friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Mairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

the hotel is newer and the rooms are abit larger than Marriot Pinnacle. the room lacks a refrigerator but there's a ice machine on the floor. free wifi is available in the rooms. large bottles of shampoos/bodywashes/lotions. the valet parking is also a little cheaper than Marriot. there's a 7-11 store right behind the hotel and a grocery store less than a block away. it's a good place to stay in Vancouver,BC.

Room Tip: avoid rooms close to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariya330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've stayed here twice and will definitely be back again. It is gorgeous place to be, and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,592 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing