We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value great location a must stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good value great location a must stay!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Arrived Christmas Day to meet the very friendly Reception staff, rooms clean, spacious and hotel has a good feeling about it. Great location easy walk to Stanley Park, Canada Place and downtown. Hotel spa/hot tub and warm pool were lovely after busy days sightseeing. Gym facilities and showers were all good too. Bathrooms good size with lovely soaps, shampoo & conditioner etc. Free wifi was wonderful for the teenagers! Restaurant looked good although we didn't get to use it we did however enjoy some lovely room service meals. Appreciated the inter connecting rooms. Has a valet service for cars. Booked through Hotwire secret Santa I called it where you don't know Hotel name until you purchase worked well for us. There is the option to choose hotel through Hotwire too either worked brillantly for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwisolargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    582
    124
    26
    18
See reviews for
399
701
123
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Coal Harbour is outstanding. Staff, the property, the whole nine yards.

I highly recommend staying here to anyone coming to visit Vancouver. Only seconds from the water, this newly built property is beautiful. When myself and my partner checked in with our dog, the entire staff took the time to come by and say hello to us. Our room had a beautiful view of Stanley Park, we could even see the float planes landing!

The room itself was gorgeous. The bed also provided the best sleep we have had in quite some time... I think our dog thought so too.

We had breakfast in Prestons Restaurant the following morning, and everything was top notch. Service was fantastic, and my Eggs Benny (which I had some modifications on), came out perfect. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a delicious breakfast around the Coal Harbour area.

All in all, 5 stars. I will most certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmartell54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The staff were friendly and efficient!

The hotel was in pristine condition as was my room. Free room wi-fi internet (which should be a no-brainer these days).

The room felt brand new. Clean and set-up perfectly for working and relaxing.

The iPhone compatible alarm clock (iHome) was an added bonus!

Coffee and tea in the room - again from a business perspective is such a helpful value-add.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hugoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay and had our cat with us due to home renovations.  With that said, upon arrival we were welcomed by the valet & door man, and Claire & David at the front desk were very helpful and supportive with our pet.  The hotel is well located for a nice walk which we enjoyed to our dinner location, then we came back to an beverage & appetizer in Preston's, great environment:)...breakfast the next morning was great also.
 
Next stay we will pack to enjoy the amenities of the gym, pool and jacuzzi.  My wife was impressed with the eco-ness of our hotel, but how clean and welcoming the guest room and hotel decor is...again great experience and would not hesitate to suggest to anyone...staff are great and VERY friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bassman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a room on the top floor, with stunning views of the city! Although you could hear the lift it didn't bother us - the fantastic room and the breath taking view of the city was worth it.

The gym is well kitted out, and the outside swimming pool is small but a lovely addition: spent most nights in there!

The breakfast was delicious but expensive, however you must expect that in Vancouver.

Good location too - only 15 minutes from Stanley Park and a short walk away from the coastline. Overall, we would recommend this hotel as our first choice to stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Top floor for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

~ My wife and I have stayed here a few times and love it. Friendly staff and great location in downtown Vancouver. We booked through Hotwire and usually are able to get a room for $80.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuriedTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was here for 2 days for a business trip in December. The hotel is less than two years old and sparkles. I was most impressed by all of the 'green' touches in my room and throughout the hotel. For example, this was the first hotel I stay in with a composter in the room. There were also bulk bathroom amenities, a two-flush toilet, and much more. I also ate in Preston's and was very impressed by the seafood chowder. If you have time, its worthwhile to drop down.

Room Tip: The hotel is new. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HalifaxGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,608 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing