We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Modern and Well Located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Modern and Well Located.”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Near the West End, almost on the harbor and within walking distance of Stanley Park, this modern, comfortable hotel met all our needs and exceeded many. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    571
    122
    25
    18
See reviews for
386
687
122
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Wonderful location near the water. New hotel, vibrant staff. Large rooms. Walking distance to Stanley Park, convention center. A west coast 'value' chain, yet probably the best hotel in Vancouver for the money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuckfan491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed in various hotels in Vancouver. The Coast Coal Harbour was, by far, the best of the lot. The room was clean, comfortable, well appointed and quiet. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The location is great - we were able to get around quite easily. I was even able to find free street parking a few blocks away. Bonus!
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ELBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is comfortable,clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room faced on to West Hastings street, which can be noisy at night. I would request a room not facing the street.
We would have liked to have a fridge in the room and bath robes to use the pool and hot tub.
The valet parking is almost $34 per day. There are other hotels in the city with cheaper parking. The location is good - Urban Fare store across the road from the hotel. Close to the sea wall at Coal Harbour, within walking distance to Pacific Mall, Canada place, Gastown, Burrard station, sea bus, etc. Overall a good choice!!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the busy street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiaLillooet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel has everything going for it: reasonably priced, clean, modern, comfortable rooms; phenomenal views of Coal Harbour and North Vancouver; a decent restaurant called Prestons; friendly and helpful staff who always say hello to you, a great location in the downtown near everything, pet-friendly, etc. So why can't I give this hotel a four-star review to match its four-star status? Well, unfortunately downtown Vancouver has gotten extremely noisy due to a population that has more than doubled since the 1980s and the sounds of sea planes and sirens reverberating off of all the glass towers, including hotel rooms with their enormous glass windows allowing all the noise to permeate through them. Unfortunately, the same phenomenon holds true for any glass tower hotel in the downtown, including the Marriott and the Delta. So if you're sensitive to street noise like me, even earplugs won't even suffice. The noisy ventilation system did not help things either. I don't recommend staying downtown unless your partially or fully deaf. Yaletown apparently has the same problem. I'd opt instead for a B&B in the West End, where you'll get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank depgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I booked this hotel with Hotwire and was pleasantly surprised at the welcome I received. I checked in before an engagement and afterwards took my dogs (2) with me to the hotel.
When I told them I would have 2 Shuh Tzu with me when I returned the fellow on the desk was disappointed because he wouldn't be there later to see them. Also, in the morning the 2 young men parking cars were really welcoming of my dogs and stopped for a pat.
The room was lovely and really clean with huge windows and partial view of the harbour. It was nice and close to the sea wall walk and both my dogs and I enjoyed our morning walk.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this hotel, but a view of the harbor would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed three nights. The weather wasn't kind on the second day but the hotel was great. We were welcomed by pleasant and competent staff and quickly into our room.
The room was spacious for an inner city hotel and we were lucky enough to have a water view between two buildings across the road. It was modern and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast in Prestons restaurant was good and dinner the night before pleasant. Service was the only weak point with dinner. The waitress was not a listener!

The location is quite good for access to the inner city attractions and the tourist office is a short walk away. Here we got good advice to get to Capilano walkway and the markets.

We left Vancouver for Victoria and used the Pacific Coast bus and ferry to get there. The pick up point was across the road from the hotel - very convenient.

While Prestons is a good restaurant we found an Urban Fare restaurant and supermarket just across the road. Great comfort food at reasonable prices. It's not 5 star so don't expect similar treatment but the food was tasty and honest.

We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,512 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,951 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,501 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing