We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was my first time staying at this hotel, and my 30th trip to Vancouver. GREAT location! It was within walking distance to shopping and great restaurants! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area, and very quick to respond to any needs. If you need to do any drycleaning, the hotel is practically at your door before you hang up the phone from calling the front desk. Amazingly quick service!
For the first time ever I had a room where they took "environmentally conscious" to an entirely new level. My room had a recycling bin, green bin (organic waste) and waste can. It's so nice to have this option in such a great hotel.
The conference room in the hotel was very bright and open, and didn't feel like you were in some cardboard box during the week long meetings I had.
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Corner suites have greater views and more window space!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawaii2009for3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

It was our first time at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. Staff was friendly and rooms were nice although ours was a little small. It's close to the waterfront and there is a great walkway along the water for great views of seaplanes and Stanley Park. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to get a room up high.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were lucky enough to have a room with an amazing view! Large comfortable bed - large room with room to move about and spread out our luggage. We were not a cruise ... we used to live in Vancouver and were back for a visit. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite and gave great advise about dinner reservations and lent us umbrellas.
Unlimited net use was really helpful!

Had some great walks down to Stanley Park - breakfast over the road at Urban Fare and excellent coffees up at Cafe Artigiano.

We left town and came back and they graciously held onto a bag for us.

Room Tip: There is a little slice of the building that has views of the water inbetween two buildings that are...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank movedalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights prior to our cruise and couldn't have asked for a better place. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel and room itself of a very high standard. Great facilities incl pool and spa (great after a day out exploring Vancouver), free internet and located close to the waterfront and eateries. It was also only a 10 minute walk to the cruise terminal so also very handy for us. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simo-jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a long Canadian tour, and although tired we found the hotel restful, comfortable and beautifully situated so that we could get everywhere around town with no problem ( we were carless).
It is recently redecorated and the staff seem to be proud of it. Near the waterfront, it is also close to stop 1 on ther two city-buses hop-on-hop-off. Shopping is on the doorstep and many restaurants are nearby. A lovely way to end our holiday

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ProspectGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Renovated in January 2010, this is a modern, clean hotel. Everything feels new and we were very pleased with our room which had not one but two double beds. The location is great and the staff friendly and helpful.

Parking isn't cheap at $50 for 2 nights and it's valet but I guess the Coast isn't alone in charging for parking and given where the hotel is located I can understand the need for charging.

This is a great base to explore Vancouver and I highly recommend you give it a try if you're in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is a very nice place. Clean, quiet and the facilities are everything you would want. We stayed here the night before we left on a cruise and was chosen particularly for the proximity to the Cruise ship terminal. Having said that, the terminal is about 5-10 mins walk from the motel and if you are OK carrying/wheeling your luggage that far then you will be OK. Staff were very friendly and the room was excellent. Nice view of the city. Hotel is not very old and situated right in the middle of downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: A room on the harbour side would provide the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,634 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $134 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing