We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable start to holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is located in the business district of Vancouver close to the sea-front, but a 10 minute walk uphill to the main shops. There are good bus services close by. We were booked in for 3 nights as part of a Titan Hitours group. We were checked in and in our room within 10 minutes and our cases arrived 5 minutes later.

The room was spacious with 2 large double beds, good quality furnishings, 42" digital TV, free WiFi and a good sized bathroom with excellent quality toiletries. Unfortunately there was only a single bedside cabinet between the beds with a central double light that shone on both beds which ever side was turned on. WE therefore used both beds so that we had access to the light and beside cabinet. (There should be a cabinet and individual on both sides of each bed so that they can be used as doubles). This turned out to be typical of Canadian hotel rooms on this tour. There was also only one suitcase stand - not ideal for 2 guests living out of 2 suitcases. There was the usual hair dryer, ironing board and tea/coffee supplies (limited milk and sugar).

The window overlooked office blocks at the back - no problem as we ere not there for the view!

We were served a complimentary continental breakfast in a meeting room so cannot comment on the normal breakfast. We though that the dinner options were typically pricey as expected in a 4* hotel so ate out. (Vancouver is NOT a cheap place to eat anyway).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my two kids 11 and 9. The location is excellent. A little few blocks away from the main market streets and very near the waterfront. In fact I would say being away from the market streets is a positive as it is very quiet and relaxing. And being near the waterfront is excellent as one can really take lovely walks in the mornings and evenings. And you are not that far from the market streets in any case its just a short walk to holp across for shopping or a meal. Lovely newly done up rooms and very spacious. Most spacious infact in my entire trip. Loved the big toiletry bottles in the bathroom. First time seen such containers in a hotel. The ceiling to floor windows are great - but in evenings one can see across the windows of buildings opposite you so I guess even those people can see inside your rooms. Though they are office buildings and no one is really interested but still maybe some privacy issues here. Had done a non-refundable booking for 3 nights but due to change in travel plans stayed only for 2 nights. The hotel refused for a refund/room upgrade/food voucher. It is not against my booking rules but still a small gesture might have been appreciated. But woudl come back here again. Loved the hotel and more so Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbyIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Great new hotel with a convenient location. The rooms are not overwhelmingly large, but well appointed. What sets this hotel apart is its staff. The front desk staff go out of their way to assist you and make you feel welcome. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvalembois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group travelling to Rockies. Good location for being near harbour -bit of a walk to the shops though. Room was clean and well maintained. Restaurant attached to hotel was good value for money and great didnt have far to go after a 9 hour flight.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I experienced the same poor customer service as others noted here. The staff at the front desk need to be trained in proper customer service and etiquette. For a hotel that is trying to compete at a 4 star level it is doing a poor job. Upon notifying the hotel of my late arrival I was not offered assistance with any of my bags, I was told at check in that if I was going to have 3 people in my room that I needed to pay a $25/night 3rd person fee even though this was never mentioned before and the third person was my aunt who was simply visiting. She told the genteleman at the front desk that in that case (keeping in mind that we are exhausted and its 3 am) she would take some bags up and wouldnt be staying. He replied " then I can expect you to come down shortly?" What a first impression! Having spent the days prior to this at the Four Seasons Downtown it is clear that this hotel pales in comparison not to mention the location is not so convenient. Spare yourselves the fake attempt at service and stay at the other 4 star hotels in Downtown Vancouver for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rania0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Conference at the convention center. TA reviews of this hotel sounded good, so I picked it over the conference-negotiated hotels. I really enjoyed it. I had a corner room with lots of windows and, though the views were mostly of other buildings, I could see a bit of harbour, which was nice. The beds were great and the room ultra quiet (my main concern when traveling). No fridge but plenty of ice. In room recycling. Free good wifi (Many Vancouver hotels charge). About 8 minute walk from the Skytrain station, 5 minutes from the convention center. Grocery store just kitty-corner on Bute St - its upscale and has good food.

Just a block away from the hotel you are in the harborfront park, which has peds out till late at night, so it must be safe. You're about 3/4 mile from Stanley Park, which is wonderful if you want to wander outdoors. Lots of little restaurants of various types within a few blocks.

No fancy lobby here, just utilitarian. Staff were friendly. Restaurant is very good. Used business center to print boarding passes.

I really liked the feel of the hotel and the room - glass, airy, clean, modern.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojave_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hello I actually work at the Fairmont in San Francisco. If I’m not mistaken asking for the name of any additional person(s) staying in the room is standard procedure around the world for security and emergency reasons….example: a fire in the hotel they would need a list of names to find you.

My hotel in Vancouver was sold out a few weeks ago when I needed it. I also booked through Hotwire to get a cheaper rate….if you read the fine print or see their commercials it says you get what you get….basically the left over rooms which indicates you get the hotels basic room. I find when I travel to Canada they normally give rooms with two queens or two doubles whereas USA gives King Rooms more often. I really don’t mind paying for the upgrade as it was only $30 a night and I only paid roughly $100 a night for the room. That same room was $230 before taxes (WARNING: Canada has a lot of TAX on everything) if I paid regular price!!!! I saved $100 each night!!! Now that was a deal!

I ended up staying at the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel as well and my experience was the opposite…the service was exceptional…….can’t believe I’m saying this but I think if I was going to rate a hotel on service, the Coast would get 100%. Everyone from the Front desk to Housekeeping were great!

Highly Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,776 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $126 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing