We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good choice, good location”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Spent one night here during a trip to Vancouver. Booked on a third party website and got a great deal. Check in was pretty efficient, rooms were clean, modern, bright. Comfortabel beds, nice modern bathroom, flat screen TV.
Service in teh restaurant for brekafast was tardy and the coffee was average.
Overall for teh price I paid, $110 per night, thi swas a great deal in a really convenient location for the sky train/transit

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    544
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
365
648
114
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The room was spacious and had very lovely decor in shades of light green and blue which made the room very restful. The bathroom was modern, and towels and toiletries were plentiful -- lovey plush robes. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the best pillows that I have ever experienced. The hotel is located very near to the waterfront walkway...you can walk to Stanley Park in about 20 minutes -- very nice! The hotel was very quiet...I did not hear a sound from the other rooms. The staff were helpful, efficient, and very nice. Free wireless a plus! I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldivesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in spring, largely because we found such a good rate on-line. The hotel is large, brand new and very professional. Staff were welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to give us restaurant recommendations etc. Rooms were very large and spacious with good facilities. Location was fab - right in downtown Vancouver which made everywhere walkable. Our issue is that it is a corporate business hotel. There was nothing cosy or characterful about it. The beds were comfy and we had a good night's sleep (apart from the noisy housekeeping staff in the morning) but we didn't look forward to going back there and would certainly not have had a night in. Restaurant was average to poor. Great for business travellers though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flame1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My company had rented 20 rooms at this hotel in March due to a convention. Overall the room was very comfortable, very clean, excellent mattress, bedding and pillow. I was very well rested after a long day of work.
I was staying in a room with a peek-a-poo sea view. Unfortunately I can not enjoy because there is a big office building right across the street and people were still working at night. With my room lights on, I believe they can see through the tinted glass at night. I have to keep my curtain close at all time. No privacy..
Limited dinner food choices in the restaurant but dinner was tasty.
The biggest complaint was the breakfast room service. It arrived late and after I signed for the bill and paid a tips. I found out they had sent me two orders and charge me for both (I should have read closely before signing anything next time). I returned one order and then found out there was no sausages which they charged for. I told them I was running really late from work and asked to cancel the order but they insisted to make the sausage. Due to the breakfast problem. I was late to work that caused me some trouble. I double check the final bill and realized that they decided to keep a $3 tips. (note: not the sur charge for room service). Later on that day, I found out it happened to a couple of my friends from the other rooms too.
Concierge service was excellent. Check in staffs were very professional. Except one lady on my check out was not friendly ,robotic and cold.
For $200 per night, I expected a better service. I like this hotel. Hoping these concerns can be improve.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My husband has very special needs. The hotel met and exceeded all our needs.
The Staff from the Bell Staff to the Front Desk asked if they could do anything to make our stay better. The Bathroom had all the features required in a Handicap Washroom and was roomy and easy to manoeuver in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlrmjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed one night in February 2011. Given the location the hotel offers spectacular views across the water to Grouse Mountain from the floor to ceiling windows in the room. We used the overnight parking and valet service and while it was spendy at $35 per night the service was swift and courteous. Since our stay covered only a Sunday evening we didn't really see other guests in the lobby or using the elevator which added a nice level of privacy to our stay. The reception staff was GREAT, super friendly, answered all our questions about the area and gave us a couple of tips on where to eat diner and breakfast.

The only problems we had were both related to the room. First as a couple we we given a room with two queen beds instead of one king -- we thought about going back to reception as asking for a change but the room was so generous in size we just looked at the queen bed as a chance to snuggle closer. The other problem was the house keeping staff. We'd nearly fallen asleep during a later afternoon nap and we're rudely woken up by housekeeping knocking on the door, opening the door, and then stepping into the room. Both of us kept saying "room occupied" "come back later" and after a couple minutes housekeeping stepped back out of the room and closed the door behind them. Ammenties in room we're great, plenty of light, an alarm clock/radio with iPhone docking, generous sized bath tub, great water pressure in the shower, high quality toiletries, coffee/tea/coco maker, free wi-fi, comfortable bed. We never turned the TV on but the room had a wall mounted flat screen that I would guess to be 30+ inches across.

Would we stay again? If we found a favorable rate probably.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latte_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent four nights here over Spring Break with the family and we all really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are very nice, with a very modern updated look to them and free wifi. The staff is very courteous and go out of their way to be helpful with advice about restaurants and attractions. The location is good but not great. A lot of attractions are somewhat close but I think most people whill still need to cab it, especially if there's a threat of rain. We certainly drove with two little kids in tow. The biggest hit was the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. I know what you're thinking. Outdoors in Canada in March? Well unlike many hotels, when they say heated pool, they really do mean heated pool! We were very comfortable swimming outdoors in 50F weather. One of my highlights was meeting all the fellow travelers at the hot tub! You just don't get the same atmosphere indoors. The only negative I can think of is the outrageous $37 a day parking fee. Granted, I don't know if it's any better anywhere else downtown but I was taken aback. It was literally about half the cost of my room on hotwire!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yiching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,592 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing