We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Charming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Third House Inn
Save
You added Third House Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 61 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were forced to look for alternate accommodation for our relatives--- well--- I was prepared to move in with them!
The rooms were very well appointed, with nice comfortable touches, the rooms facing north upstairs had a super view and were very quiet. And the hostess went the extra mile, a truly helpful person who served marvellous breakfasts. As well, she had a beautiful garden at back and front.
If you need a place close to UBC, buses and local shops, this is it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaRoseWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed a week and it was probably the best B&B i have ever stayed in. Masses of information available, very well situated with bus stop at the door, spotless well-appointed rooms with full facilities and a friendly hostess who provided wonderful breakfasts! What more could one ask? Being in the best (West) it was quiet yet quick to get to CBD

We were even helped up and down the stairs with our luggage!

Absolutely A!+++

Room Tip: All rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a very relaxing place to stay. The set up is great-everything is well planned and executed. Genise is very friendly and helpful without being in your face. We loved the little sitting area on the second floor with coffee/teas and sherry!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the second floor facing north-you have a peek-a boo view of the ocean. One ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliabritishcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Genise is the perfect host, she makes you feel welcome in Vancouver and her rooms are verry cosy. We stayed downstairs in the basement; with two bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom it is very private. Her breakfast were the best we had during our whole trip. No-one topped it!
The Third House Inn is located outside the citycentre but close to the beach which is excellent for an evening walk (take the car though as the way back is quite steep). In short: a place higly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisIngeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This inn sits close to UBC and Kits on 10th avenue, a bit of a thoroughfare. If you like inns and want to stay on the western edge of Vancouver, this is a good choice.

Very friendly and carefree owner. Large rooms that are comfy. views of the bay (over houses). You will feel like a local.

Room Tip: take the room upstarts with the king bed with the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Genise was warm and welcoming. The house is beautiful, comfortable and feels like home. Our room was big and sunny, with a view to the ocean. The bed was cozy. The yard and garden are filled with many plants, trees and shrubs. Breakfast was served in a homey dining room filled with great artwork, next to a bright kitchen. And the food...absolutely delicious! There is a little sitting area on the second floor, where coffee and tea are always available as well as bookshelves filled with books and brochures about Vancouver and all the amenities it offers. Genise is very helpful regarding practical information about getting around and good restaurants. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathiem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

While searching for lodging in Vancouver, I was given a recommendation for The Third House Inn. Since I prefer to stay in local accommodations instead of hotels, I made a reservation. This was just the perfect choice! Hidden behind hedges on a fairly busy street was a bed and breakfast that is like a 'secret garden'. Not only a beautiful garden but an attractive 1929 house where you're made to feel at home. Genise, the innkeeper graciously provides for not only your comfort both food and lodging, but stimulating conversations and helpful suggestions to make your holiday more rewarding. You don't feel like a guest but almost family. Now I can recommend this B & B with the same enthusiasm that it was recommended to me!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#71 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#19 of 61 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#26 of 61 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Land Endowments
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
#11 of 45 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
West Point Grey
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#15 of 61 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Third House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Third House Inn

Property: Third House Inn
Address: 4117 10th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, colourful relaxing house and garden in West Point Grey area. The area has restaurants, coffee bars and specialty shops and is next to the University of British Columbia. The inn has large rooms each with private bathrooms, fresh buffet breakfasts, wireless internet, parking. Walking distance to sandy beaches of Locarno and Spanish Banks. On bus route to downtown and Vancouver attractions of Stanley Park,the Aquarium Gastown, China Town. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing