We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie and Dinner ”

Market by Jean-Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
Market by Jean-Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 3,775 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: The Vancouver location, of the Paris original, is an unparalleled dining experience in Vancouver. Designed for understated elegant, yet relaxed contemporary dining that supports Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s renowned Modern Pacific style of cooking. The Restaurant: Refined Dining: OPEN 7 days a week Reservations recommended – Level 3
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Movie and Dinner ”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The concept of the movie and dinner was fun. Love the special flavored popcorn and the sparkling wine. Also the prepared set menu is fun.

A negative was the quality of the movie, the movie was streamed online so the picture was not as crisp as the movie theatres.

Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewandIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    110
    60
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding food experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant lives up to its billing. We were informed that all menu items were awesome and indeed they were. I had the sablefish that had a sauce of chilli reduction which was amazing. I also ordered the mashed truffle potatoes which were a delightful accompaniment. A great place to impress a date or even a business colleague.

Helpful?
Thank normants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood and great service”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The restaurant seated us promptly at our reservation time and the food and service were both excellent. I especially enjoyed the fresh oysters and the salmon. The tables were far enough apart for us to have some private conversations without needing to raise our voices. I highly recommend the restaurant

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackAguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Now our favorite restaurant in Vancouver!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My partner and I visit Vancouver every year from our home in Cincinnati, Ohio; it's our favorite city in North America. And while there, we always enjoy fine dining, with choices among dozens of great restaurants in this stunning city.

The Market by Jean-Georges has absolutely risen to the top of our list as our favorite restaurant in the city. We ate there again last night, and love it so much that it will be our first meal on this trip to the city and our last. What makes it special?

First, of course, the food. We did the five-course tasting menu, and the choices were exquisite. The portions are small so you don't get overstuffed, but you get to sample a range of brilliantly prepared and flavorful options.

Second, the wine list is great, including a lot of local, B.C. wines, and we love drinking local wines (when appropriate) when we travel. The sommelier (and one of the managers) David Auer is extraordinary -- warm, friendly, and helpful. We literally return here because he is so wonderful (along with the food, etc.) Another sommelier Michael is equally terrific; we met him for the first time last night.

And then there is the service -- absolutely impeccable. We particularly note how great Kanis was, our main server, and Lucia stepped in very skillfully as sommelier before David arrived. We chose the wine pairings with the tasting menu, but wanted more B.C. wines instead of wines from Australia and New Zealand; she didn't miss a beat and stepped up with substitute selections at no extra charge. David and Michael also rose to that challenge, and they all made for a great evening. There were a number of other great servers whose names we did not learn, but they were all really, really good.

Finally, the atmosphere -- on an outside balcony area overlooking the city -- is just lovely. Now, there is construction going on across the way right now, so the view could be better, but that is temporary and the restaurant can hardly be blamed for that. I generally avoid hotel-based restaurants; boy, is this ever a worthy exception to that rule!

In short, it was a perfect dining experience -- one of our best anywhere, and we travel a lot. We can't wait to go back in a week -- though we'll be sad to be eating our last meal in Vancouver for this trip. If you can, check this place out!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expected more love.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Didn't quite live up to the hotels 5 star rating. Service was spread thin because of several large 'business meetings' and management didn't pick up the slack for the overworked waiter. Bus boys seemed unsure of what to do in the crunch. Food was fine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leonardk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear leonardk2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your thoughts with us. I apologise if we fell short of your expectations in terms of the service you received.
As service industry professionals, we continuously strive to provide the very best for our guests, in terms of services and facilities at all times. Whilst there will always be times when everything goes smoothly, we do accept the fact that we may have shortcomings as well and these areas will obviously need re-visiting and improving upon.
I can assure you we take pride in delivering a great culinary and service experience to our guests and that the experience you received is far below our standards.
I will be sure to follow up with our team to review how we feel short in this instance Please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would like to invite you back to MARKET by Jean-Georges, to rectify the situation you experienced and show you the true standards we are well known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market by Jean-Georges also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Market by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing