We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market by Jean-Georges

Market by Jean-Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
Market by Jean-Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,499 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Thurlow Street
Description: The Vancouver location, of the Paris original, is an unparalleled dining experience in Vancouver. Designed for understated elegant, yet relaxed contemporary dining that supports Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s renowned Modern Pacific style of cooking. The Restaurant: Refined Dining: OPEN 7 days a week Reservations recommended – Level 3
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great value for fresh and sophisticated yummy food.
$29 for 3 course brunch menu.
Try the fresh pea soup. Spectacular. Tasted like eating fresh peas from the pod.
Delicious, tender flank steak sandwich. The only thing is that the mustard is extremely hot and was used too liberally. That should be offered on the side,
Cheesecake...like and delicious with a rhubarb compote.
They are little portions, but enough food.
Lychee Raspberry Bellini lovely and refreshing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dem6806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    96
    54
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another famous chef name name crashes & burns in Vancouver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to MAKET with friends last night and were disappointed. Overall, given the price point and restaurant reputation, we (as locals) will not consider going back.

The service was impersonal and flawed for a high-end dining venue. We were seated, poured tepid water and ignored until I flagged a waiter. When the bread finally arrived, it was stale buns, warmed up. (This bread was consistent with my husband's previous experience at the restaurant while at a business function there).

Overall the menu selection is rather limited. Lacks depth and breadth.

The Tuna Tartare appetizers we ordered were very good and nice-sized portions. The Frisee salad with lardons was good but the portion was too small. The Steak tartare was bland and not served the traditional way, with fresh white toast.

My Pacific Cod with Sweet Garlic-Lemon Broth was outstanding, but my friend's Roasted Sablefish was too salty and overpriced. My husband's Parmesan Crusted Organic Chicken was delicious but the extra side order of Parmesan Gnocchi he ordered was so small he was tempted to ask for a magnifying glass...

Does not live up to its reputation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raqueloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies for how your dinner with us transpired. We regret very much that your expectations were less then satisfied. It's concerning that these service points were missed and that your experience lacked consistency. Our Culinary and Service Teams are dedicated to providing you with an exception dining experience. With that being said, we'd very much like the opportunity to invite you back to Market so that we can make up for short comings.

I will be most willing to handle all details personally, should you be available, and welcome you to contact me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Food and Beverages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The drink menu is fabulous - try the ginger margarita. And if you are not an alcohol drinker, their in-house sodas are fantastic. The bar menu has just the right mix and amount of food to snack on, which is what we were looking for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“THANK YOU!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our group of DOCTORS turned away by a couple of restaurants downtown and a friend suggested this place. Thinking there was no way we'd get in, I called anyways...what amazing service we had. From the phone call to paying the bill we were treated to a great waiter, amazing food, a terrific quiet room for our group of 11, and a lovely time. THANK YOU! Thank you, thank you!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woodte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
256 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place for a business lunch meeting. Quiet enough to speak without having to raise your voice. The decor is modern and comfortable. The food is very good and the service excellent. The beef tartar was hand cut and very good. The black truffle pizza was a bit of a disappointment. I had asked if there were truffles on the pizza and was told yes. It appeared to have a dried powder of some kind sprinkled on the top. Not as bad as just truffle oil but not great. I will return and try something else.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market by Jean-Georges also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Market by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing