We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good casual Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quercia

La Quercia
Ranked #317 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A good casual Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose this restaurant for dinner as it had recently been awarded Best Casual Italian Restaurant in Vancouver. It is about 7km [4miles] from the CBD, but we found it easy to get to, and return, by taxi. The space is pleasant and our party of four did not find the noise level too high. We elected to have the kitchen choose our courses and they were happy to accomodate a food allergy of one of our group. Overall I would rate the food as good, with some courses excellent and others not so great. In hindsight, it may have been better to choose our own preferences from the comprehensive menu. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reconnoiterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    18
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I really wanted to like this place... I really did.

The food was a rolling ride of highs ( sweetbreads with porcini & gnnochi was sublime, veal tonnato was exquisite) and lows (squid ink risotto was under cooked, skate terrine was disjointed). But the main complaint in our group of 10 was the portion size of the dessert that you receive for the La Famiglia dinner (3 servings of lemon cream, 3 hazelnut torte and 3 scoops of sorbet for 10 adults?). A chef friend who joined us mentioned that it was maybe $100 worth of food costs for our $600 dinner.

Service was spotty. Our female hostess was warm and charming. I personally found the food runners to be quite rude, reaching in to serve or remove plates without as much as an acknowledge (almost bumping into me a 4 of times).

I can see myself returning for dinner as a party of 2 (or 4 tops) so that you can order a la Carte. I would recommend against dinning at this restaurant if your forced to go off menu and submit yourselves to the mercy of the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Every dish was a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently went for dinner at this quaint restaurant, with another couple. We loved the atmosphere, the wine and the food. The wait staff was attentive and very professional. I would go back tomorrow!

We decided to do the 7 course meal @ $45 per person. They don't tell you what they will bring out, it's a surprise! We loved it. There was only one dish that I wasn't too fond of, the squid, I love squid but I don't like the olives in the sauce. The other 6 dishes were great.

Great experience! Make sure you make reservations as far in advance as possible. This restaurant is popular but very limited seating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuckergirl1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“To good for Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from Italy and France and this place is comparable if not better than anything we had on our trip. Well done and keep up the imagination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andre c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NORTHERN ITALIAN FOOD AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is the finest Northern Italian food in Vancouver. Adam and Lucais (the chefs) have both studied in Italy and it shows. Bellisima!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHADVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quercia also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Quercia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing