We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit Back and Enjoy Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campagnolo

Campagnolo
Ranked #428 of 3,498 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sit Back and Enjoy Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

With our group of eight we did "family" style where they brought a selection of items at a set price. It worked very well and made for a relaxed familiar eating experience. From start to finish the food was very good and we were provided with a selection that suited everyone from teenagers to older adults.

The serving staff were friendly, prompt and helpful on the very busy Friday were were there.

As others point out, it is off the beaten track but this adds character and easy access.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TessmacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Get here early on for dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great spot that serves authentic cuisine. The service is was attentive and friendly.

Came here with my girlfriend at 530pm on a Friday and it filled up FAST after 6pm.

We shared all plates and had:

Tonno Vitello
albacore tuna crudo, bone marrow, scallion $13.50

Small dish with rich flavors that is mainly for taste since its a very small dish. Order a side of bread for $2 which is delicious and compliments this dish very well.

Agnolotti (on special and not on the menu) $16

Again a very small dish, but great flavors for small pieces taken in.

Diavola spicy sausage, shaved button mushrooms, rapini, pecorino $15.50

Awesome pizza at a bargain price. The best I've had in a very long time even when compared to Pizza Farina and Nicli Antica Pizzeria.

Definitely coming back here again if I feel like having another early dinner. Campagnolo's pizza is a must try!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Campagnolo is not in the most obvious location - a low-key building off a busy transit route near a hostel and a beer parlour. But get inside and you're in for a treat. This restaurant ticks all the boxes - great food, superb service, unique decor, overall a great experience. Highly recommended: the crispy chechi (deep fried chick peas with mint and chilis - yum) and the amazing pizza. The menu changes with what's fresh and local, but it's always creative and Italian with a northern twist (no boring spaghetti here). No reservations but worth going early or late, and the food is just as good in the wine bar at the back as it is in the main restaurant in the front. A two block walk from the Main St. Skytrain station if you want to enjoy their creative wine list, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“not all that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'd heard a lot about Campagnolo's so was looking forward to trying it out. It's in a pretty skeezy area, but the interior is modern and funky (though I'm not a fan of plastic chairs or cinder block walls).

No reservations for groups smaller than 8, so the 6 of us arrived at 6 and got a table fairly easily - though by 7 there were lineups at the door, no free tables, and the room was REALLY noisy. The crowd is predominantely 20s and 30s hipsters.

The wine list is pretty limited, certainly if you like anything other than Italian reds. The menu feels unbalanced, and the appetizers in particular were off-the-wall. No bread for the table. Pizzas were heavy on the dough, light on the toppings, and one of the three at our table was overcooked/charred. Cannelloni was very small - more like appetizer sized - while the Tagliatelle was absolutely huge.

Overall, I feel like we paid too much for just middling food & ambience. Won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really nice unpretentious spot with great food - outstanding value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place was a real find, off the beaten path on Main street near the Viaduct. Very unpretentious place serving mostly an italian menu. Service was great and food was superb. They make a delicious fried chick pea salad. The fish I had was superbly done, and the pizza my nephew had was excellent. I would go back here in a flash. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagnolo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Campagnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing