We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track”
Review of Campagnolo

Campagnolo
Ranked #617 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Campagnolo is not in the most obvious location - a low-key building off a busy transit route near a hostel and a beer parlour. But get inside and you're in for a treat. This restaurant ticks all the boxes - great food, superb service, unique decor, overall a great experience. Highly recommended: the crispy chechi (deep fried chick peas with mint and chilis - yum) and the amazing pizza. The menu changes with what's fresh and local, but it's always creative and Italian with a northern twist (no boring spaghetti here). No reservations but worth going early or late, and the food is just as good in the wine bar at the back as it is in the main restaurant in the front. A two block walk from the Main St. Skytrain station if you want to enjoy their creative wine list, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    52
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“not all that”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'd heard a lot about Campagnolo's so was looking forward to trying it out. It's in a pretty skeezy area, but the interior is modern and funky (though I'm not a fan of plastic chairs or cinder block walls).

No reservations for groups smaller than 8, so the 6 of us arrived at 6 and got a table fairly easily - though by 7 there were lineups at the door, no free tables, and the room was REALLY noisy. The crowd is predominantely 20s and 30s hipsters.

The wine list is pretty limited, certainly if you like anything other than Italian reds. The menu feels unbalanced, and the appetizers in particular were off-the-wall. No bread for the table. Pizzas were heavy on the dough, light on the toppings, and one of the three at our table was overcooked/charred. Cannelloni was very small - more like appetizer sized - while the Tagliatelle was absolutely huge.

Overall, I feel like we paid too much for just middling food & ambience. Won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really nice unpretentious spot with great food - outstanding value.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place was a real find, off the beaten path on Main street near the Viaduct. Very unpretentious place serving mostly an italian menu. Service was great and food was superb. They make a delicious fried chick pea salad. The fish I had was superbly done, and the pizza my nephew had was excellent. I would go back here in a flash. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
971 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Big Night Dinner - very good.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I attended Campagnolo’s Big Night dinner last night in the upstairs private dining room at a cost of $75 per person. There were 18 guests at one long communal table; most courses were served family style. We were started with a campari and soda, and then people ordered their own wine or other beverages. The menu consisted of: soup, risotto, il timpano, roast game hen, steel head trout, and whole roasted suckling pig accompanied with roasted garlic, beets, potato gratin, and glazed carrots. The dinner finished with a delicious cheese course (2 cheeses, apple slices, filberts, honey & bread) served with house-made green walnut liquor. Overall the food was of high quality - I thought the trout was undercooked but everyone else loved it so just personal preference I guess. Outstanding were the beef broth-pasta-veg soup, il timpano, game hens, carrots, beets and cheese course. Some of the food (il timpano, game hens, fish, roast pig) were presented to the table prior to carving which added to the fun of the experience. The service was attentive and friendly, and our newly met table mates made for good company. A very nice evening - I would recommend special event meals such as this one at Campagnolo's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This was so disappointing.....”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were excited to read that Campagnolo was offering gluten-free canneloni and with 3 celiacs in the family, decided to have a special 60th birthday celebration here. The restaurant would't take a reservation for the 7 of us - the minimum was 8, and we understood and accepted this. Since our grown-up kids were coming from all over Vancouver and the north shore by public transit, (and it isn't easy to get to with Translink) there was a lot of effort made to arrive by 6:15 so we could get a table as walk-ins. Four of us arrived at the same time and were shocked when the hostess told us (not nicely) that we wouldn't be able to sit down until our entire party had arrived. Huh???? What happened to the concept of starting with a drink and appetizers while waiting ($$ for the restaurant) or treating us as if we were valued as customers? Did they think we were lying about how many were eating with us?? Trying to take up more space than we deserved?? Pull one over on the restaurant ,,,,,for what reason?? The hostility from the manager (I am assuming) was so blatant, I was ready to walk out. He acted as if he was doing us a favour to let us (finally) sit down in the back room and order drinks. The food was just ok, not great, and sadly, the server had no idea what other menu items were gluten-free, necessitation a lot of backing and forthing to the kitchen so we could order salads, etc. The bar drinks were badly made, and they didn't have a cherry to put in a Manhattan! Yikes! We eat out a lot in Vancouver, and I have to say this is the first bad review I have ever written. There are way too many wonderful restaurants in Vancouver to accept this kind of treatment, and we will never go back. Shame on Campagnola for such a mean-spirited attitude.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzydVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagnolo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Campagnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing