We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location and Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Clair Hotel - Hostel

St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Prineville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location and Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The St. Clair Hotel-Hostel is in the perfect location for exploring Vancouver. It is nicely restored. The private rooms are great. I loved the ship stained glass above each door. The staff was extremely helpful with everything. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. For the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    30
    24
    16
    13
See reviews for
5
29
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A group of us stayed here in July. The lack of AC was a bit of an issue, but not a major problem. The place is fine, rooms were clean, and as long as you don't mind dragging your bags up a few stairs, it is a an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the building, and preferably not on the top story! unless you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotaStuntPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I can see how people wouldn't like it if they were looking for a hotel, but for a hostel its great! The rooms are fine and clean. There is internet that kind of works. Seems there are enough bathrooms and showers. The beds are squeaky. Just a heads up, there is no AC. There are computers that you can use for $0.50 per half hour, but they look like they are from the late 90's. The windows in the rooms open which is good o account of no AC. The showers were a little dirty. They are communal, 2 on each floor. The rooms have a sink in them and lock with a key. I was sharing a room with 2 other guys that I know so it was nice to be able to lock the door. The guys at the desk seemed helpful. I would stay here again. Great for the price, not for luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed twice now in a private double and liked it just fine. It isn't a life and sole of the party hostel but it's nice to chill out and really well located and great value for money. The rooms and beds are perfectly clean (and we even had a telly) but the showers and (sadly very limited) cooking areas could do with a bit of a scrub but saying that I was not disgusted. The more we stayed the more I liked it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpitfireSVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I think 3 stars pretty much sums up St. Clair. Not sure what the "hotel" portion is because what we experienced was 100% hostel.

First the positives:

Great location, walkable distance to Granville Street, cheap parking in the building, reasonable price for a shared room, provides bedding.

Negatives:

I don't know what their policy is on smoking but the whole building reeked of pot the whole time we were there. I'm not one to let this bother me if it's just a whiff here and there but this hit you right when you walked in in the evening and was still a problem in the morning. Not pleasant.

There were two restroom stalls on each floor. On our floor one stalls was out of order so we had to go to another floor to use the restroom if someone was taking a long time in one stall.

Showers were okay, no separate kitchen.

The front desk people were nice though. They have wi-fi but it was spotty.

I'm not sure I would recommend this hostel but it was okay for what it was I guess. I was just irked by the pot smell. They really should find some way to prevent that from being an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

It seems like there are very inconsistent reviews of this place and I guess I was hoping we would be lucky enough to experience the good things people had been writing. But our experience was pretty awful. The guy at the front desk was completely unhelpful, and didn't give us any information about the place when we arrived. Some of the things that made us dislike St. Clair:
1) The wifi is terrible. We were down the hall on the first floor and there was no wifi in our room. It took a good while for it to kick in, but only when we sat with the laptop in the corridor outside the bathroom.
2) It is unclean. A mouse ran right past me in the corridor near the reception. To me, that is disgusting. The showers were mouldy around the ceiling, and there was very little light in there.
3) There was no fridge on the first floor. We were used to having one nearby, or even in our room, but none to be found near our room or on our floor.
4) Dirty plates and cups were just stacked on a table outside our room.

The room was ok, but the bunk was extremely creaky. Had a sink in the room which was good. Our window looked out onto telephone poles in a very dirty, sometimes noisy lane. No elevators, so if you have lots of heavy luggage, expect to carry it. Nobody helped us with ours.

Some people near the end of our corridor had what sounded like a very good, loud time for a couple of hours late on Wednesday night, waking us up numerous times. That's not the hostel's fault but it sure made the experience a whole lot worse.

It was a pretty cheap place to stay but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was looking for inexpensive accomodations: clean, safe, good location. St. Clair was great in that regard. The hostel was bare bones but spotless. The bed wasn't very comfortable but the pillows were soft and generous. Ventilation wasn't great and I was afraid to open the windows much because of birds outside. They had some barbs affixed to the outside sill to deter landing, but some were missing. I didn't have much interaction with the staff but the guy at the front desk when I checked in was helpful, although a bit of a "low talker". I am an older woman and felt a bit out of my element, but all in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#77 of 96 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
#72 of 96 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 44 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel - Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel - Hostel

Property: St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Address: 577 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St Clair Hotel - Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Clair Hotel - Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing