We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang for buck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Clair Hotel - Hostel

St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bang for buck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I read a lot of negative reviews for this place but my friends and I thought it was awesome. We stayed two nights and were there for Halloween even. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Location AMAZING and service was pleasant because we were never bothered. I would definitely stay there again AND recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siscandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    34
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
5
30
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hostel is perfect for 1 or 2 night, no more. Cheap, quiet, nice staff, good situation and clean. But: the fridge is disgusting, there are no commun room, the organisation of the staff could be better and Internet doens't work (that is really annoying...!), so don't even try Skype or this kind of stuff! The only solution is to stay in the middle of the corridor with your computer on your knees...To avoid as well for the people who travel alone, there is few chance that you meet others travellers except for the people in your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairette86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when we were going to a concert and doing some shopping. It's in a great location, 10 mins tops from the stadiums and shopping. The place is clean and the staff didn't mind when we checked out after 10am.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHunBCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Great location and the price was decent, but overall wasn't too pleased with this place. We checked in after the front desk closed, so came in to an assigned room right next to the front door and front desk (although the hotel appeared to be fairly empty). Our windows faced the main street on the ground floor-sirens blaring, trucks rambling by, jackhammers in the morning. Springs poking us from the bed. No towels provided.
In the morning, I requested a quieter room and at first the desk staff were not willing to help us because they did not want to clean an extra room. Eventually she was very helpful and showed us a few rooms to see if we liked them better. One of the rooms had a window covered with pigeon poo. We did get to move to a room on the 3rd floor which was comfy and clean and a lot quieter. Didn't mind the steps as I was just happy to have a room away from the guys who seem to hang out all day by the front desk chatting (don't think they were staying at the hotel). One other thing to note is that above every door is a pretty stained glass panel that lets in a LOT of light at night from the hallway. If you don't mind sleeping in a room as light as daytime, no problem.
My husband was fine with the place, since he's not bothered by much, but I probably would look for another place. Bathrooms marginally clean, but TP not replaced all weekend so it did run out in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Group of five adults visited in Feb 2011. Basic accommodation which was clean and tidy. Service received was courteous but not overly helpful. Room is pretty sparse but was adequate for us as we only slept there, and went out to see Vancouver from early til late in the day. Beds were comfortable and rooms were warm. Area provided with jug, microwave and toaster but hardly any cups/glasses etc. No information about Vancouver available in the hostel and office frequently unattended. Price good for what we received. Would stay again if budget my priority. Access is up steep flight of stairs, which was not mentioned on the website, no internal elevator either. wi-fi and purchased Internet available.

Within easy walk of waterfront (and Visitor Information Centre), Gastown, Shopping malls, restaurants and eating places, skytrain, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

This hotel/hostels was one of the worst experiences I've had in my travels. Positives include great service. Staff was very helpful, and location was ok in the end I suppose. The negatives, and why I will never stay there again is the lack of cleanliness in the bathrooms (rooms were fair), older building with loud people that everything echoed and felt like people were stomping on my roof, and the end room we were in was rattled by trash trucks at 4 AM!!!! I repeat 4 Am.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and I'd say you get what you pay for. It is basic but it felt clean and the room was a decent size with a sink. We wanted a double room but there was none left so we got bunks and this was perfect as the bottom bunk was big enough for two and we could put our clothes on the top bunk. Other than that there wasnt anywhere else to unpack which could be a problem. The showers and toilets were fine. Location was great, right by water street and not far from Gastown or Stanley park. The main problem we had was that our door had clearly had somebody try to break in previously and the latch did not feel secure. This meant we never felt comfortable leaving any valuables in the room and they didnt have a safety deposite box - we asked. We told the staff guy about the door and he said he'd come and look, but never got back to us. It's no good just looking, that needs to be more secure!!!! This was quite annoying. What were we meant to do, leave our stuff in a room with a door that just needs a strong push to get in, or carry all our valuables round with us all day? The morning was very noisey, all we could hear was bottles smashing from out the window on the street. Take ear plugs!! If we'd had a different room we'd have loved this place for what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel - Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel - Hostel

Property: St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Address: 577 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St Clair Hotel - Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your St Clair Hotel - Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing