We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better quality and cleaner places to stay in the area”
Review of English Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
English Bay Hotel
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My parents, myself and my girlfriend stayed at the English Bay Hotel for 3 nights mid September.
We booked the place online and managed to get a room with 2 queen beds and ocean views (the front side of the building looking over Denham Street). While the views of the bay were great it is very noise (we did stay over a weekend, maybe mid week it is not so bad), with the kebab shop downstairs playing there music really loud Saturday night.
It is also a little difficult to find the underground parking initially but the front desk staff were really friendly and helpful over the course of our stay-they even let us stay in the carpark for another 3 hours after checking out.
The room was very basic, half the stove did not work. The room smelt bad and there were other guests down the corridor who were smoking weed we believe. There was human hair on the sheets and although the location near, and view of, English Bay is great I will not be returning here and suggest you look else where for accommodation..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for English Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

WOW what a Beautiful Country we live in!!! Drove from Edmonton to Vancover and stayed in Wngilish Bay!!! I would have never dream't that we have PALM teees!! Yes thats right in Canada and in the Mountains!!! The Ocean Beautiful the people were Great. The area was Sooooo Beautiful!!! The hotel very clean and well looked aftered!! The night life is Great Pubs and outside heated Patio Bars, wirh Great Fish and Seafood yum yum!!! If you ever feel like driving up the Coast, make sire you cross over and come amd see. You wont be Sorry!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine_ca52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

When we first arrived we were worried because the hotel is shabby and looks run down, however we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our apartment, it was very very clean, the air con was working, and it was quiet. The bed was comfy, there was a brand new fridge freezer, the kettle boiled super-fast, there was TEA for us English folk (thankyou EBH) with free top-ups in the lobby; free wifi internet; the hotel is close to every amenity, there is a 7/11 just up the street and one of the most beautiful beaches is a 3 minute walk away. We loved staying here, the only downside was the parking, a steep slope with a sharp turn into a key-operated underground lock-up; however if you are very very slow and careful it's manageable. The staff here were friendly and helpful and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Side facing apartment was quiet, don't really know about the others.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieH2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a very basic hotel that wouldn't suit everyone; however, it met our needs quite nicely. Although a bit rundown, the location is great and the price is quite reasonable for the area. Our suite (5 person) had a kitchen and separate bedroom where we could put our baby to sleep early and continue to stay up. We found the staff helpful and nice. We left valuables in our room and had no problems. Also, parking was available at $11 a night. We choose a room at the back and it was very quiet.

Negatives: Not modern, a bit rundown and not as clean as a 5 star hotel. The parking lot is pretty hard to get into, you have to drive down a narrow steep ramp and the lot itself has quite a few posts in it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jublia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There were 5 of us staying here Aug 18, 2012, there was a bedroom, and two beds in the living room. It had a kitchen, which we didnt make use of, other then coffee maker. 1 cheap bag of coffee.
The staff were fine at check-in.
Yes, there are some worn out items in the place, shower okay, plenty of thin towels, soap and shampoo. It is not a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel, we knew that, but for a inexpensive stay, we would likely stay again. The price is very competitive, location great, so it worked for us.
Keep this in mind when booking, and you will know what type of hotel it is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonySeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, what the English Bay Hotel is not: it is not a 4-star hotel, so don't stay here if you must have luxury. What it is: Clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen. Not at all elegant, but with everything you need in a super-convenient location. We had a queen-sized bed, table and chairs, dresser, chest, etc., plus a full kitchen with large refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, and dishes. (Coffee was provided during our stay.) Good tub/shower with plenty of hot water. No air conditioning, but that was not necessary during our mid-August visit. Our room faced southwest, so we did need to close the draperies for a couple of hours on sunny afternoons. And late-night revelers can be a little noisy on the street-side rooms with the windows open. But our stunning view of English Bay was worth it. Helpful front desk, too. Plus, the lobby is constantly monitored, so it feels very safe. (Not that the location is unsafe; it isn't. Just around the corner from the Best Western Sands.)
If you want value for your hotel dollar in Vancouver, the English Bay Hotel should be at the top of your list.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little street noise, ask for a room with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wompbomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Were looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to Stanley Park and this ticked the box. The hotel is a little run down but the room had a kitchen which would be useful if you were staying for more than one night. Room was clean - linen and towels were a little on the thin side but were clean. Easy to get to downtown using the buses. Not quite sure why they needed an imprint of our credit card when we had already prepaid. For the price we paid I would say that it was a fair value for Vancouver City - they also offer larger rooms for families.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view otherwise you are looking out over the tops of other buildings.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,446 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,782 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,499 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Hotel

Address: 1150 Denman St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2M9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $87 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — English Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your English Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing