We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual sushi in Vancouver”

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 3,728 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Cross street: Robson Street
Transit: We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great casual sushi in Vancouver”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced and very good sushi, good service, lots of locals, very fresh big eye tuna was a hit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickRem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    90
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent, even with the kids in tow”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We found Shuraku on Tripadvisor, desperate for somewhere to eat with the kids that wasn't Maccas or Subways. This is not somewhere you would take kids unless you had to, but we had to and the staff treated them great. We really appreciated the prompt, efficient and pleasant service by Shuraku's waitstaff. Our waitress didn't forget a thing, even when our order chopped and changed.
My husband greatly enjoyed the moderately priced drinks, as did I. Our sushi and sashimi was fresh, the perfect temperature (which restaurants often get wrong), and delectably tasty.
The place was full on a Wednesday night which is a great sign. We were very pleased with our choice. You will be too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We had never eaten sushi before and sought advice from the concierge at our hotel. He recommended this place. It's lively, full of Japanese, and clearly authentic. We took advice from the waitress about what to eat. Ate excellent fish, good Japanese beer and had a very interesting meal. Excellent for Sushi virgins!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Probably a better sushi restuarant than many. Excellent selection of food. Good service and good selection of sakes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zippy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I grew up on Japanese food. Whether I tried to or not, I was exposed to many variations of both home cooked, and restaurant type of Japanese cuisine in Canada, and in Japan.

In Vancouver, you have the option of the funkier kind of Japanese food like the Guu restaurants (my all time favourite place to eat in Vancouver), or more traditional fare. Even though they are both Japanese, I can't really make a fair comparison. Shuraku, near Robson and Granville, is the best Japanese restaurant I have experienced in Canada, in all accounts I can remember.

The 1st time, more than 10 years ago, I was left impressed. The 2nd time, recently a few weeks ago, I was even more impressed. The lunch menu had great choices. But the quality and execution put this place in line with some of the great places in Japan.

The sushi was 1st rate. But there are many other places in Vancouver that do it as well. When you get into other dishes like curry and pork cutlet (tonkatsu), that's where this place shot ahead of anywhere I can remember.

Curry was slow cooked for 5 hours, and you could taste it. Thick, rich, and very satisfying. Not too heavy, but still had a really comfort-food type of feeling to it. Presented in a stone bowl was a really neat touch as well.

The tonkatsu was what knocked the ball out of the park. I have not seen a crust like theirs since I had tonkatsu in Japan; at a restaurant that specialized in tonkatsu. As in, that's all they did, and was very popular in the city I lived in. Perfectly browned, incredibly light and crispy, and the consistency of the crumbs was flawless. It was deep fried at the perfect temperature, for the perfect amount of time, and with the perfect batter.

When I picked up the menu, I saw prices that were mid-range. After eating what I ordered, I now see this restaurant to be an incredible bargain. I have paid much more for quality that did not equal Shuraku.

This was easily one of the biggest surprises I have experienced in a long while; since my first time eating at Guu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmayeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing