We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Cross street: Robson Street
Transit: We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The sushi was delicious! Their sake menu is rather extensive which is great if you know about sake. But if you just want some house sake at a reasonable price they don't have it and if they do have reasonable priced sake its buried in the menu. I do wish the waitress had been more helpful on finding a sake. We ended up with Beer instead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itravelalot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    92
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I don't know what the fuss is about with this place. It's on a dodgy block of Granville, the patio offers an intimate relationship with the Translink trolley bus, an overflowing waste bin and some fairly colourful neighbours.

The food is good but not great. The sushi is fresh but there's nothing particularly creative about it. The ling cod is horribly overcooked and tastes like a dress shield. Too bad; it's normally a lovely bit of fish.

Service is good but not great. The decor is nice but not gorgeous. For the same money, you can eat better on Robson.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Put this one on your "bucket list"”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I ate Japanese food in Japan for two and a half years while working there, and Shuraku comes closest to its Japanese counterparts in quality, service, and atmosphere. The izakaya style food was fresh, seasoned perfectly, and each plate was easily enough for two. The sweet soy lotus root was delicious, as was the shrimp and vegetable tempura. The volcano sushi roll was not only delicious, but presented as a volcano (see photo). We had Japanese beer and sake and four dishes for a reasonable price. If you enjoy Japanese food, go to Shuraku.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Japanese place on Granville”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For good down home food on Granville, I suggest dining at Shurake Sake Bar & Bistro. The service is great with the authentic Japanese customs and courtesies.

Go with miso soup, wild mushroom salad, kogomi, avocado rolls, mushroom ohitash, live spot prawns, kuro macha, genmaicha, ebi gyoza, tuna isobe ago and salmon teryaki - all balance between veggies and proteins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank androidmilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tried Shuraku for lunch a few times mostly because a friend and colleague really likes this place. I think the location is great and the restaurant is nicely decorated, unfortunately, the food is kind of average and not great. I'm sure that I'll be back but not because I pick the place, hppefully I'll be more impressed next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 998MichaelW998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing