We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, order slowly”

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Cross street: Robson Street
Transit: We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food, order slowly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was wonderful. Our only complaint is that we ordered several dishes assuming they would bring them over a period of time. Everything came almost at once. I don't know if this is usual in this type of restaurant. I would suggest ordering only a dish or so at a time to avoid this.
A reservation is essential otherwise you will be waiting for a table. it is very popular.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    92
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It looks unassuming from the outside. Inside: great food, friendly and efficient service, a comfortable, unpretentious setting. Three of us tried a wide selection of dishes. All were attractive and delicious, from the rolls to the ginger ice cream. Can hardly wait to visit Vancouver again to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, exquisitely presented”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This restaurant was amazing, we were very pleasantly surprized to find a diamond in the rough, the food is sensational and the staff were all very engaging and superb service. We ordered the eggplant pops, yummy and then agi dashi tofu which ended up being 2 orders it was so good. We got the sauce on the side to keep the tofu crispy. Then the Emerald Forest roll is a piece of culinary art, but sumptuous. The salmon sashimi was beautifully presented and melted in our mouth. The tuna 3 ways was fun. We left so full but absolutely satisfied and will definitely return. If you are down on Granville and looking for a fantastic meal, this is highly recommended. The beer is nice and cold too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local place.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice buzzy restaurant, great rolls and sashimi. The house special ribs were fantastic and we really liked the Tuna tartare. Ate there twice in 3days, a great recommendation from the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbwestken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish with a choice of local!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went here based on the recommendation of my hotel and boy was it awesome. The fish was fresh, tasty and, well, pretty awesome. There sake menu is also quite incredible. They have a fresh, wild local tuna and salmon option which I had two orders of - quite delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing