We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough”
Review of Miku

Miku
Ranked #22 of 3,200 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street & Canada Place Way
Description: Miku Vancouver, a Michelin Guide Recommended restaurant, specializes in Aburi, or flamed-seared, sushi, which was developed nearly a century ago in Japan. The act of applying fire directly to sushi enhances the natural flavors and textures of the fish, creating a new and exciting culinary experience. Miku owner Seigo Nakamura innovated the Aburi concept by crafting specialty sauces using non-traditional Japanese ingredients to pair with each type of fish. The light sear from the binchotan (Japanese bamboo charcoal) caramelizes the sauce, releasing a smoky aroma and bringing out the finest flavors in each piece of Aburi sushi. Miku Restaurant is within walking distance from the Pan Pacific Hotel, Canada Place, Fly Over Canada, Cruise Ship Terminals, and Sea Bus.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

This place is rated so high on most reviews so I figured, why not? Well, it was OK. Had it not been all the rants and raves building up my expectations, I might have given it a higher rating. I rather have regular sushi than the flame torched ones. Nice presentation on the desert. Unbeatable views. Overpriced.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lapyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

Marvelous Japanese sushi restaurant! Best sushi, rolls and oshi. Tasty and oh so beautifully presented along with excellent service. The opera cake dessert was a work of art! Outside seating has a view of the port and the cruise terminal. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank deanf646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

What a find.... This place is a must if you want great sushi. The staff, the view and the food were all top notch. They have an innovative menu that changes based on their creativity and what local fish maybe sourced. Will remember and return
.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

All the food looked and tasted like it was made in the morning, stuck on a plate and then served. Had the deluxe tasting menu and saki pairing. Waste of money in this tourist trap whose only quality is its location with a view of the sails. Even the wagu beef sucked. From the first dish to the last quality was lacking, mediocrity prevailed. Why the high ratings remains an unsolved mystery.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

High quality Japanese food. Very good tasting menu or al'a carte.
Good choice of Sake served in wine glasses exposing aromatic flavours, really interesting.
Book as this is one of Vancouver's favourite restaurants and there are queues to get in.
Service and welcome friendly and efficient.
Lokated at the harbour opposite Fairmont Waterfront.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank thepyrenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Miku also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Miku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.