We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, food, and sake!”
Review of Miku

Miku
Reserve with OpenTable
Miku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street & Canada Place Way
Description: We specialize in Aburi, or flamed-seared sushi, which was developed nearly a century ago in Japan. The act of applying fire directly to sushi enhances the natural flavours and textures of the fish, creating a new and exciting culinary experience. Miku owner Seigo Nakamura innovated the Aburi concept by crafting specialty sauces using non-traditional Japanese ingredients to pair with each type of fish. The light sear from the binchotan (Japanese bamboo charcoal) caramelizes the sauce, releasing a smoky aroma and bringing out the finest flavours in each piece of Aburi sushi. Miku Restaurant is within walking distance from the Pan Pacific Hotel, Canada Place, Fly Over Canada, Cruise Ship Terminals and Sea Bus.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great view, food, and sake!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Being a resident of Vancouver, I've had the opportunity to visit Miku a few times, both at their old and new locations. Their new location is a definite hot spot in the summer time - ask for a spot on the patio and enjoy the ocean breeze and a the Vancouver harbour.

Their sake specialist is indeed a specialist - if she happens to be working that night, she'll be able to give you some great recommendations for any budget.

If you have the budget - definitely spring for the omakase - this is a custom chef's creation served over a few courses, and will definitely be an adventure for your palette.

And of course - no experience at Miku is complete without trying Aburi! A must have.

Also note that Miku has a sister restaurant named Minami in the Yaletown part of downtown Vancouver. Depending on where you are in the city, Minami is an equally good option!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rynwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    991
    340
    81
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MARKHAM
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
532 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“Beautiful foo. Beautiful view.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The sushi was inventive and tasty. Service was impeccable. The sakes were excellent. And the view...to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food... service not so much. ”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious. Our waiter served us "what they're known for," can't remember what it was called, but it was delicious. The hostess was rude though, we almost walked out after being seated. We went around 4pm... Reservations started at 5. 4 other groups in there (very large restaurant)... She said she could 'fit us in', but we'd have to be gone by 5. We told her not a problem at all, we wanted something small to hold us over til dinner and we still had a lot of other stuff planned. This continued for 4 more rude comments of the same nature..... With her concluding "if you go over, we're going to have to cut you off." Completely unnecessary, especially when we, without question, initially agreed. We were out of there within 20 minutes.

Helpful?
4 Thank StephanieN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent, but tries to be trendy”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Miku has lovely sushi, in a clean, modern setting. Everything was fresh, with good flavor combinations. Was there on a saturday night, and they were obviously overwhelmed as service was slow. Had both the aburi style and standard raw sushi - both were good (although I personally prefer more traditional raw). The server was able to easily direct me to gluten free options. Plus, the cocktails were nicely done and complemented the sushi. Three rolls, six nigiri sushi and 4 cocktails ran my friend and I about $60 each, not including tip - so priced reasonably for a top ranked sushi restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenGateTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had dinner here with friends last week. It was our second visit, but the first time at the new location.

I would agree with other reviewers that it is loud. The food, however, was very good. We had a lot of help from our waitress who asked us to put ourselves in her hands. We did, and she came out with a great selection of sushi rolls that we all devoured. I did not have a main course, but I am told by my friends that the sablefish was very good.

The wine list was extensive and fairly priced. My husband purchased a nice bottle for our dinner, and noticed the same bottle at a different restaurant was priced $100 higher! So it seems that Miku prices its bottles fairly.

We will definitely be back the next time we are in Vancouver.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miku also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Miku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing