We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to eat Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miku

Miku
Reserve with OpenTable
Miku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Howe Street & Canada Place Way
Description: We specialize in Aburi, or flamed-seared sushi, which was developed nearly a century ago in Japan. The act of applying fire directly and lightly sear is known to enhance the natural flavors of the fish. Miku owner, Seigo Nakamura, innovated the Aburi concept by creating speciality sauces, using non-traditional Japanese ingredients, to complement the unique taste properties of each fish. Miku Restaurant is within walking distance from the Pan Pacific Hotel, Canada Place, Trade & Exhibition Centre, IMAX Theatre, Cruise Ship Terminals and Sea Bus. If shopping downtown, join us for lunch and re-energize. It's entrance is at the corner of Howe Street and Canada Place Way, overlooking the east cruiseship terminal at Canada Place.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place to eat Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The sushi is great, even if never had sushi, or you don't like sushi, this is the place, You will eat everything on your plate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveSohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    313
    73
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you crave sushi, come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I really enjoyed this place on our recent trip. Our experience was consistent with most of the reviews I scanned here NUMBER ONE: EXCELLENT SUSHI. This is both from a quality, freshness and preparation perspective. They do not overly "doll up" the rolls. The recommendations were excellent and the pacing was excellent. The staff, if anything, were exhausting in their enthusiasm -- but still very skilled. I agree this place would be too noisey for a business meal -- at least when we were there on a Friday evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was rated the 3rd best Sushi restaurant in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

In terms of Sushi quality, by sushi I am referring to sashimi and simple rolls/nigiri that are not drenched in sauces, Miku rates amongst the best I have ever had.

The Tuna sashimi just melts in your mouth and the only way the fish could be fresher is if you had caught it yourself...

Yes the restaurant is one of the most expensive sushi restaurants in Vancouver, and the service is fine, they are a little slow in bringing items like ginger, soy etc. But the food quality is too good to give this restaurant anything but a 5 star rating.

If you know good food, you won't be disappointed with MIKU, I JUST WISH THEY WOULD SERVE BROWN RICE for us Health Nuts! Come on!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from North Delta ........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend (through business) invited my husband and I to join him at Miku for dinner. The last thing I wanted was sushi but rather than be rude, I agreed. It pays off to be polite!!! It was amazing - nothing like we have ever had before. Its not cheap and a bit of a drive from North Delta but well worth it. Give it a try .... you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived early after having been referred by the Loden Hotel staff (excellent nearby hotel) and being delivered there in the Loden town car! Just the best beginning to a wonderful evening. The wait staff are warm, knowledgable and helpful, We tried many new items; my favorite: Saikyo Miso Sablefish. The pacing was excellent; we had beer which complimented the fish well. The chefs work within sight of the dining room; a treat to watch their prep of the aburi items especially. Everything was very fresh, clean tasting, interesting. If you enjoy sushi, don't miss Miku.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miku also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Miku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing