We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Ramen in Vancouver”
Review of Motomachi Shokudo

Motomachi Shokudo
Ranked #459 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favourite Ramen in Vancouver”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is hands down my favourite ramen spot in Vancouver. Great broth, fresh and well made ramen, and the ingredients (from the pork to the onsen egg) are all very well prepared. Love it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eanniemeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Near Stanley Park? Like Noodles?”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is hands down one of the top 5 ramen places in Vancouver. Go for the spicy organic chicken. They also have a pork and rice appy that leaves you smiling. I am a huge ramen fan and this compares to all the ramen I have eaten in Asia over the years. If you are taking a walk in Stanley park and need a cheap and great meal, try this small place for sure. You will not be disappointed. The owner has a more popular and more traditional shop on the same block called Kintaro, yet I like this place more. Not a lot of seating but worth a stop. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best Ramen Shop!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Incredible ramen shop! The soup is amazing and the ingredients are too. The only thing bad about this is that the place is a bit too small and we always need to line up. So, heres a warm advice, go a bit early to line up or else... you know the consequences!

Helpful?
Thank VancouverCivilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice while in Vancouver. Great food that's fresh and reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Get the gyoza to start. Spicy ramen with organic chicken was good but not super spicy.

Helpful?
Thank wickedboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best ramen I ever had!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice, cozy small place and friendly staff. Clean and neat interior. But the best thing about this place is the ramen! My go-to place and I was lucky to get there at an odd time since there was no line-up. My ramen looked so beautifully designed with fresh flower on the side, and smelled good. As soon as I started sipping, I couldn't stop the smile on my face. The walk, the search, the wait to finally have found this gem was well worth it. I can't wait to taste everything on the menu on my next visits...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motomachi Shokudo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Motomachi Shokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing