We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $142.90
More Info
from $41.56
More Info
from $280.72
More Info
from $191.54
More Info
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic half day tour knowledgeable crew captain anthony entire crew saw orcas fast boat safe distance salish sea crew members amazing experience transient orcas great trip top deck marine life open water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This tour exceeded all of our expectations. Captain Aaron and First Mate Wilma did a great job finding us some very rare sightings of resident killer whales and Olivia was the Naturalist who told us about the wildlife we were seeing, and could not have been more nice and helpful.
Highly recommend prince of Whales Whale Watching tours!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you got to see Orcas on your adventure with us. How exciting :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about sharing their knowledge with our guests and certainly have a wealth of information when it comes to whale and marine wildlife!

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was hesitant to be gone on an 11 hour day trip, but we had a wonderful time. The time passed quickly, the crew was extremely helpful and friendly, and we really enjoyed ourselves. When whales were spotted, the boat slowed down and we hovered nearby to get a closer look. We would spend over 1/2 hour just getting the opportunity to view and photograph the whales. The layover in Victoria was well organized and we enjoyed seeing Butchart Gardens once again. I highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank winniew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Winnie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your whale watching adventure with us :) How wonderful that you enjoyed your time in Victoria too and your visit to the Butchart Gardens!

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about sharing their knowledge with our guests and certainly have a wealth of information when it comes to whale and marine wildlife!

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An amazing day with the Prince of Whales team, we traveled with 2 adults and two children (10 & 12) from Vancouver to Victoria, then back to Vancouver by seaplane.
We were only in Vancouver two days and this trip enabled us to see more than we thought given it starts from Granville Island in the morning, the Public Market is a must! and we arrived back in Vancouver harbor which is also a must-see.
The staff where fantastic from start to finish and Yes, we did see two types of whale within 250 meters of our boat.
The team then dropped us in Victoria another little gem and must-see location before our amazing flight back to Vancouver harbor.
All in all, this trip made our family holiday, the team where great, we received a call the day before to confirm everything which was a nice unexpected touch!

Advise - Take a coat, sunscreen and some snacks for the kids as it’s windy out at sea and you're on the boat from 8 am till 12:30 pm. Amazing well-organised trip would recommend A+

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cduff75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see the whales! So glad that you enjoyed the Granville Island market too!

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They are very passionate about the work they carry out and have a great deal of knowledge on whale and marine wildlife.

We would love to have you and David join us on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The boat ride alone was worth the trip in the midst of vast expanses of water and islands. We sighted 8 whales surfacing and deep diving. Wow! The guides were
knowledgeable and informative, always helpful and generous. It was a great experience all around. I will do it again!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Extraordinary481028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see whales while they were deep diving - an incredible sight to witness.

Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our staff members. They work very hard to ensure our guest receive an enjoyable and educational tour with us. We would love to have to have you join us on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great tour, we saw plenty of whales (unfortunately no Orcas), special thanks to Wilma who provided great info, attention, care and fun to all.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank altavini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see many whales. We are sorry to hear that you didn't see any Orcas on your trip. Every tour is unpredictable and different in terms of what can be spotted. Just like whale watching anywhere in this region, or the world, sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see the Orcas!

Thank you for your great feedback about our Naturalist Wilma. We are so pleased that you were able to learn a lot from her. We hope to have you join us on another tour the next time you are in Telegraph Cove :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews