We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 01/31/2021
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $160.28
More Info
from $48.20
More Info
from $388.74
More Info
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic saw orcas knowledgeable crew entire crew half day trip transient orcas comfortable boat respectful distance top deck amazing experience great trip marine life highly recommend this company recommend this trip boat ride howe sound
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2019

The whale (and wildlife) watching part of the package was excellent; on both the outbound and return trips the boat crew to fulfill the whale/orca watching brief. The visit to the Burchart Gardens was rushed because the bus service from Victoria was poor on 26 July and, despite queuing for the 14.00 bus, we did not arrive at the gardens until about 15.40. The boat departure had been rescheduled for 16.30 so a leisurely walk through the various gardens was not an option.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hello Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate it and are pleased that you enjoyed your whale watching experience.

We partner with a company called CVS tours who operate a shuttle bus from downtown Victoria to the Butchart Gardens. We are sorry to hear that you found this bus service poor and we will certainly investigate the matter further.

We are glad you enjoyed your tour with us and hope to have you join us on another adventure in future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Had a great time on our half day whale watching adventure departing Granville Island. Despite rough seas we quickly found a mama humpback with her calf and were able to observe them for an extended time. The adult breached twice! The crew was great and I even liked some of Craig’s jokes! Then we headed to calmer waters to see harbor seals and bald eagles. Would have loved to see orcas but felt super fortunate to see the humpbacks. The views of the coastline, islands and lighthouse were beautiful. Blankets and hot beverages were a nice touch to keep everyone comfy. Dress warmly as advised. Despite balmy temperatures in Vancouver it is quite cold on the water

Thank doctoryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we truly appreciate this! How adorable that you got to see a mama humpback with her calf - such a beautiful, mesmerizing sight. It's not often that we get to see a humpback breach so how incredible that you got to see this too!

So great to hear that you enjoyed your time with our crew and that Craig kept you entertained :)

You are correct that it can get quite cold out on the water so we do advise guests to dress warmly but we do have blankets, hats and gloves available on board to ensure our guests stay warm and comfortable.

We hope you will join us on another adventure in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Great morning watching whales, sea lions and eagles lead by Aaron, Selina, Olivia and Craig. Great photos and memories, thanks guys

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank chrisgA8693OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hello Chris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you got to spend the morning watching whales, sea lions and eagles on your adventure with us. What an awesome way to spend the morning :)

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. We are proud to have such a dedicated, passionate team!

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable boat in excellent condition
on trip we saw humpbacks breaching water and orcas Playing and feeding

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank DavidL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Hello David,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see Orcas and Humpbacks - while they were playing and feeding too! How amazing!

Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our staff members. They work very hard to ensure our guest receive an enjoyable and educational tour with us.

We hope to see you on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Great service and they came through with a 3 family Orca unit on way out and a Humpback Whale on way back. We did the full day package that included Buchart Gardens in the afternoon. Phenomenal place to visit, highly recommended as well. They even called the day before to make sure we were ready for the weather and what we could bring. On the boat, they make sure any questions are answered and work hard to find the whales. We got to see additional wildlife as well, such as Bald Eagle and Seals.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank ronk298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate this and are so happy that you got to see Orcas, Seals and an Eagle on your tour with us!

Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our staff members. They work very hard to ensure our guest receive an enjoyable and educational tour with us. We would love to have to have you join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews