We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $142.62
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $41.48
More Info
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
322
29
9
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
322
29
9
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic half day tour knowledgeable crew entire crew captain anthony saw orcas fast boat safe distance salish sea crew members amazing experience transient orcas great trip top deck marine life open water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 375 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

As a group of friends we had a lovely day out with Princess of Whales. The excursion was very well organised and communication from the company excellent throughout. We even got a telephone call on the day before to remind us of the change in pick-up point.
The crew was friendly and informative. The highlight, however, was that we actually saw whales. We had to do quite a detour but saw two humpback whales on the way to Victoria and on the way back the captain spent a long time trying to find the orcas spotted in Victoria harbour. A dream came true when we eventually saw three of my most favourite marine animals. It was very interesting to learn more of their behaviour from the very knowledgeable Amy.
All in all it was a magnificent experience. Thank you Princess of Whales!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Bannels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for leaving us a great recommendation. We really appreciate this and are delighted that you enjoyed your adventure observing whales and marine wildlife with us!

Thank you also for your great comments about our staff. They work very hard to ensure that our guests receive a comfortable, enjoyable and educational adventure :)

We hope you will join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

We took the combined tour (whale watching and butchart gardens) split over 2 days. The first morning the captain took a 90mile round trip west where we saw 2 humpbacks, on the way back from Butchart cove the next afternoon the captain ( who had seen Orcas nearby the landing place) persevered for an hour and found them: 3 Orcas... what a magnificent sighting! The staff on both trips was unbelievably dedicated, really went the extra mile to make the experience for us unforgettable. Really highly recommended!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank hart112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for leaving us a great recommendation. We really appreciate this and are delighted that you enjoyed your adventure observing whales and marine wildlife with us!

Thank you also for your great comments about our staff. They work very hard to ensure that our guests receive a comfortable, enjoyable and educational adventure :)

We hope you will join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver, Victoria or Telegraph Cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

We had a beautiful ride over to the Vancouver Island vicinity and spent an hour watching a pod of killer whales. Could have watched them all day! Simply spectacular.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 17martinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see a pod of killer whales - what an amazing experience!

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Vancouver, Victoria or Telegraph Cove Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful day! We saw lots of nature and wildlife! Enjoyed the water and the crew were knowledgeable.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Stingingbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you saw lots of nature and wildlife on your adventure with us.

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about sharing their knowledge with our guests and certainly have a wealth of information when it comes to whale and marine wildlife!

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

If you are considering whale watching or a boat ride from Vancouver to Victoria or vice versa, I highly recommend this company. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. They go out of their way to reach you about the magnificent creatures of the sea, and are exceptionally friendly and fun. We had MAR and JAMRS as our guides and they we phenomenal.
We did the day trip from Vancouver to Victoria. On the way there we saw seals, sea lions, a dolphin and bald eagles. Since we did not spot any whales, the crew went out of their way to try to find some on the way home. Can you believe we ended up seeing about 20 Orcas, including a calf or two, having a grand old time jumping and flapping their tails on the water? IT WAS SPECTACULAR! The crew was just as enthusiastic as the passengers...even though they do this every day.
Our Prince of Whales excursion was by far the most memorable, educational and fun part of our Vancouver vacation.
By the way, the boat is very comfortable. We had a cool day, but the first floor allows great views you large window and was a nice temperature. Whenever we wanted to go upstairs or to the front of the boat to be outside and whale watch, that was our prerogative. They even passed out caps and blankets as needed

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello Lauren,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see 20 Orcas and that they were in playful spirits! How awesome for you :)

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They are very passionate about the work they carry out and try their very best to ensure our guests have a blast with us!

We are delighted to hear that your trip with us was a highlight of your time in Vancouver and we just can't wait to have you back with us the next time you are visiting Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews