We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 01/31/2021
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $160.29
More Info
from $44.70
More Info
from $388.77
More Info
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic saw orcas knowledgeable crew entire crew half day trip transient orcas comfortable boat respectful distance top deck amazing experience great trip marine life highly recommend this company recommend this trip boat ride howe sound
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful day! We saw lots of nature and wildlife! Enjoyed the water and the crew were knowledgeable.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Stingingbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you saw lots of nature and wildlife on your adventure with us.

Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are very passionate about sharing their knowledge with our guests and certainly have a wealth of information when it comes to whale and marine wildlife!

We would love to have you join us on another trip again the next time you are in Vancouver!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

If you are considering whale watching or a boat ride from Vancouver to Victoria or vice versa, I highly recommend this company. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. They go out of their way to reach you about the magnificent creatures of the sea, and are exceptionally friendly and fun. We had MAR and JAMRS as our guides and they we phenomenal.
We did the day trip from Vancouver to Victoria. On the way there we saw seals, sea lions, a dolphin and bald eagles. Since we did not spot any whales, the crew went out of their way to try to find some on the way home. Can you believe we ended up seeing about 20 Orcas, including a calf or two, having a grand old time jumping and flapping their tails on the water? IT WAS SPECTACULAR! The crew was just as enthusiastic as the passengers...even though they do this every day.
Our Prince of Whales excursion was by far the most memorable, educational and fun part of our Vancouver vacation.
By the way, the boat is very comfortable. We had a cool day, but the first floor allows great views you large window and was a nice temperature. Whenever we wanted to go upstairs or to the front of the boat to be outside and whale watch, that was our prerogative. They even passed out caps and blankets as needed

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Hello Lauren,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see 20 Orcas and that they were in playful spirits! How awesome for you :)

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They are very passionate about the work they carry out and try their very best to ensure our guests have a blast with us!

We are delighted to hear that your trip with us was a highlight of your time in Vancouver and we just can't wait to have you back with us the next time you are visiting Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

Great boat, great crew who were very informative. Every aspect well organised except for a long delay at the start. Booked 2.30pm, turned up 2.00pm as requested and did not set off until 3.00pm. After 3 whale watching trips now - Azores, Dominican Republic and Vancouver I feel that the distance boats have to now keep away from the whales has spoilt this spectacle for truly interested visitors. Unless you have binoculars you will be viewing whales a long long way in the distance. You must take binoculars.Then, another thought, why don't the companies selling these trips provide binoculars for you all - that would help to combat the restrictions they sail and operate under.
Hope this honest review helps the supplier and potential visitors.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Hello Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your experience with us.

Currently, it is federally mandated that vessels must stay at a distance of 400m from killer whales which has been in effect since June 1st 2019. As we are part of the Pacific Whale Watching Association, we are permitted to watch the Bigg`s (transient) whales at a distance of 200 metres.

We take these regulations very seriously as not to influence the behavior of the marine animals in any way. We want to respect the fact that these are wild animals and we will remain impartial observers. There are perhaps different distance regulations in the Azores and Dominican Republic.

Every tour is unique and BC is a world renowned location for whale watching, offering beautiful scenery and a great variety of wildlife.

We do appreciate and value your feedback as we strive to enhance our tours so that we can consistently exceed expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

This is more of an expensive method of transportation from Vancouver to Victoria, rather than a whale watching tour. It’s almost like, “we’ll get you to Victoria and maybe on the way, we’ll look for some whales”...in our case, we were about 30 minutes out full speed on our way to Victoria when the captain received a call that there were some orcas back in Vancouver, so he turned around and headed back to Vancouver. We arrived to an area outside of Vancouver, full of local boat tours and murky waters, where we saw a couple of orcas far away. It’s almost like they have to check the box that we were able to see at least a fin, since it’s a “guaranteed” whale watching tour. After spending a long time there, we were finally told that we need to head to Victoria because we were running out of time. A few minutes later, and in the same area, the captain ran over a crab trap line. The line got tangled in one of the turbine engines, so we could not move further until the captain was able to resolve the issue. I was really mad that the staff told us that we were just working on getting the boat ready for our trip, they said “we are just sitting here looking pretty, until we are ready to continue”. This did not make sense to me, until I asked other staff members and finally found out that we had ran over a crab trap line.

Finally the issue was resolved and we were on our way to Victoria. Half way, another guest (not the crew) of the tour spotted some orcas and the captain stopped the boat for us to see. But they were far out and not that many. We were told it was going to be a quick stop because we were already late for our scheduled arrival in Victoria. I felt pressured to catch a picture or two, the staff continued to mention we were late.

It was the staff’s fault that we were late, since they went back to Vancouver to spot a couple of orcas and then because of the tangled line in the turbine.

Anyway, I was exited to see more whale activity and that did not happen. It was our first visit to this area, so we were disappointed.

I can say that the flight back to Vancouver was very cool and a great experience. But this flight is not operated by Prince of Whales, but by Harbour Air.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Rolando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Hello Roland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that our tour didn't meet your expectations.

We operate many different adventures from Vancouver, Victoria and Telegraph Cove. Some of these adventures do not include a whale watching component but for those that do, we can assure you that is our priority to share a fascinating whale watching experience with our guests.

We are dealing with wild mammals which means that it is unpredictable in terms of where they will show up but we do our very best to find these beautiful whales. Our purpose is definitely not to check a box and we welcome guests to take a tour with us for free under our year-round whale sighting guarantee policy in the instance that they do not see any whales the first time with us.

We are very sorry to hear that there was an issue with an entangled crab trap line and if an issue like this does occur, we do everything in our power to ensure that the issue gets fixed promptly.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

A really great tour with the promised whale watching. The difficulties: due to some illness of one participant we had to return to the starting point after 30 minutes ride. We started new, we therefore lost 1 hour and returned after around 6 hours. However the whale watching was perfect (many whales from a distance of around 200m); the crew was very very friendly and helpful! Many Thanks to all of yo!!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank ASNSP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see the whales on your adventure with us.

We are sorry to hear that there were delays in your trip due to a sick passenger. We always want to ensure that our guests receive a comfortable and enjoyable journey with us including tending to sick passengers.

We are glad that you had a great experience over all and we can't to have you join us on another adventure in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews