We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 01/31/2021
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $160.29
More Info
from $44.70
More Info
from $388.77
More Info
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic saw orcas knowledgeable crew entire crew half day trip transient orcas comfortable boat respectful distance top deck amazing experience great trip marine life highly recommend this company recommend this trip boat ride howe sound
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic overall but disappointed no one bothered to contact our group about the change of location for tour check-in. Salish Dream sailing to Victoria included orca sightings as well as a humpback whale, dolphins, seals and eagles. Victoria is great and the Butchart Gardens picturesque. Crew of the boat very friendly.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Andviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We really appreciate it!

We are very sorry that there was a communication issue in relation to the change of location. We have made it a priority to contact all our guests by email or by phone to ensure that they are informed of this change and we are sorry that this wasn't successful in your case.

We have looked into this booking as it shows you booked through Viator and it seems that there was a digit missing from your phone number which could have been the cause for this mishap. It is hard to tell whether this was a fault on our side or through Viator but either way we apologize that this caused some confusion.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great adventure with us and that you saw Humpbacks, Orcas, Dolphins, Seals and Eagles - what a great day at Sea! Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff members!

We hope you will join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Vancouver :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

The excursion was about 1 hour each way across the Georgia Strait and a couple of hours following different small groups of whales from a respectful distance. There were several naturalists on board so there was always one close by happy to share their knowledge and answer questions.

Our trip was on a beautiful sunny day and the waters in the strait were calm. We were fortunate to have seen two different species (an Orca family and a pair of Humpbacks) as well as a seal and a porpoise. The boat had two levels, the bottom covered and with windows in the front half (open in back half) so one could move about and get out of the sun (or rain had that been the case).

It was fun to pass all the freighters in the bay as well as spotting other people out enjoying the day on their boats and paddleboards. The captain and crew knew their business, expertly handling the boat for keeping the whales in sight, and were very attentive to the approximately 60 whalewatchers on board.

Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Travel_Ahead_n_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hello,

Thank you sharing your experience with us. It is truly appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see the Orcas, Humpbacks and other marine wildlife - what an amazing experience! :)

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They are very passionate about the work they carry out and have a great deal of knowledge on whale and marine wildlife.

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

Did the ultimate day experience - 4 hours whale watching and then Victoria and The gardens.
It was an absolute amazing day - the sun was out, we found 2 pods of Orcas playing in the water, had a super friendly and knowledgeable crew who kept moving around explaining everything ‘whale’ and beyond. I decided to take the first bus to the gardens, which was a great idea as there is so much to see as you stroll through enjoying the sights and smells of the flowers. The trip back was uneventful. The captain tried for some more whales, but they couldn’t be found - but we all had an amazing day and I can highly recommend this fantastic itinerary. It’s not cheap, but I felt it was worthwhile.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank AussieInge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for leaving us an awesome review! We are delighted that you had a great adventure with us and that you got to see the Orcas!

The Butchart Gardens is definitely a beautiful sight, especially at this time of year and coupling this with whale watching makes for a terrific way to spend the day :)

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

What a fantastic morning, we were so lucky on this trip (June 10th) we saw 3 humpbacks (2 adults and a juvenile) and got to spend plenty of time with them, we were then lucky enough to see Eagles and Seals before we found a pod of 3 Orcas, an adult male, adult female and baby, what a treat, all set among some of the most breath taking scenery. Can't recommend these guys highly enough, our crew were Aaron, Aurora and Craig, all were fantastic and a real credit to the organisation!

Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you saw the Orcas as well as Seals and Eagles. What magical sights to see! Thank you also for your great feedback about our staff. They are definitely a credit to us and we are very proud to have such a hardworking team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

My sister and I loved our whale watching trip. We saw orcas and humpbacks. The crew was nice and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank rosesH6880MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our crew certainly works very hard to ensure that our guests receive an enjoyable, educational and comfortable adventure.

We hope you will join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews