We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 01/31/2021
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $160.28
More Info
from $44.69
More Info
from $388.73
More Info
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,167
100
28
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic saw orcas knowledgeable crew entire crew half day trip transient orcas comfortable boat respectful distance top deck amazing experience great trip marine life highly recommend this company recommend this trip boat ride howe sound
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

The boat itself was immaculate and spacious and the crew were helpful, competent and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the journey, it was a little chilly, but sunny and free hot beverages were welcomed. Hats and blankets can be supplied on request.

The journey to the whales was beautiful. I believe that the exclusion zone has been extended to 200 metres and so we were unable to see the many whales close up. It is a shame for us humans, but understandable if it is to protect these incredible creatures. Luckily for us we had Rory as a deckhand and he is a naturalist equipped with an awesome camera. He very kindly offered to share his wonderful photographs with us all without charge, which was very generous of him.

A great afternoon out, made even better by the quality of the boat and the crew.

I would love to have shared Rory’s photos with you, but I believe it would contravene Trip Advisors regulations as I’m not the owner. Perhaps Rory could put some up himself?

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Dawn0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hi Dawn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us an awesome review! The distance restrictions pertaining to killer whales were previously 200 metres but this has increased to 400 metres and has been in effect since June 1st 2019.
We take these distance regulations very seriously as not to influence the behavior of the marine animals in any way.

Rory is a superb photographer and Naturalist and is kind enough to share his photos with us that have been captured on various tours. We are so happy to hear that you were able to retrieve these photos also :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

The one way Whale watching Vancouver to Victoria was fantastic. We saw orcas after one hour of sailing, hang around for over half an hour watching orcas playing and jumping right in front if us. One of them passed just under our boat and emerged from the water on the other side! Right after we saw humpback whales with a cub, seals and bald eagles. The crew was very knowledgeable and experienced. They slowed down and stopped every time we approached to the big animals, and explained us whatever was in front of us using maps and photos. In the catamaran there were two bathrooms and complimentary Yes, coffee and chocolate. Also, the crew had extra blankets, gloves and hats to stay warm. It gets very windy out there and dressing warm it's a must! Prince of Whales is highly recommended!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hi Alessandro,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review. We truly appreciate it! How fantastic that you got to see the Orcas and that they were in good spirits! Perhaps they were just after having a tasty meal :)

So great to hear that you saw humpbacks along with a calf (how adorable!) and other marine wildlife! We definitely agree that dressing warm is a must and advise all our guests to wrap up! We do provide gloves, hats and blankets on our tours also as well as complimentary hot drinks.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will join us on another tour in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

What a great trip!! Saw humpback whales and learned a huge amount from the staff on board. Seals and bald eagles also spotted and time taken by the staff to explore htese animals as well. Fabulous crossing and highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank debra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hello Debra,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. How wonderful that you got to see Seals and Bald Eagles as well as the Whales of course!

So great to hear that you learned a great deal from our staff also :)

We would love to have you join us on another tour the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Today I went out on the half day whale Watching with Prince of Wales and Wilma, Aaron and Selena. We saw an amazing pod of orcas breaching, ‘playing’ with a duck and moving quite a distance.

It was fantastic they were always ready to answer one of my many questions patiently , and Wilma has huge knowledge about the Whales.

They also looked after us and they were incredibly caring with blankets and hot chocolate!

It was a brilliant trip and the views are amazing - after the whale pod sighting they gave us a bonus scenic route around the sound back to Vancouver

Thank annieDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hello Annie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate it and are so happy you had a great time on your adventure with us!

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. It is really important to us that we share our knowledge on marine and wildlife with our guests aboard our ''floating classroom''.

We hope you will join us on another tour in future as every tour is unique :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Having booked this whale watching trip, we can honestly say that it was an experience of a lifetime. We were so lucky to have had such perfect ‘viewing’ conditions and having ridden out into the Straights of Georgia for about 50 minutes, not one but two Orca pods were sighted. We followed and shadowed the pods at a respectful distance until one of them came directly under our boat following a ‘kill’. The unfortunate victim was a porpoise.
Nature can be brutal but that’s how it is and can’t be sugar coated.
Everyone on board was glued to the sea for the whole trip. The guides were knowledgable and extremely passionate about the subject of whales and marine life in general.
Thank you to you all for making this trip such an unforgettable one.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank PottersBarBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy that you got to see two Orca pods on your adventure with us - what an amazing sight! How interesting that you got to see them during a hunt too. Their behavior is fascinating!

We hope you will join us on another tour soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews