We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $142.62
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $90.03
More Info
from $41.48
More Info
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
322
29
9
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
322
29
9
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic half day tour knowledgeable crew entire crew captain anthony saw orcas fast boat safe distance salish sea crew members amazing experience transient orcas great trip top deck marine life open water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 375 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Having booked this whale watching trip, we can honestly say that it was an experience of a lifetime. We were so lucky to have had such perfect ‘viewing’ conditions and having ridden out into the Straights of Georgia for about 50 minutes, not one but two Orca pods were sighted. We followed and shadowed the pods at a respectful distance until one of them came directly under our boat following a ‘kill’. The unfortunate victim was a porpoise.
Nature can be brutal but that’s how it is and can’t be sugar coated.
Everyone on board was glued to the sea for the whole trip. The guides were knowledgable and extremely passionate about the subject of whales and marine life in general.
Thank you to you all for making this trip such an unforgettable one.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank PottersBarBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it and are so happy that you got to see two Orca pods on your adventure with us - what an amazing sight! How interesting that you got to see them during a hunt too. Their behavior is fascinating!

We hope you will join us on another tour soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Wow well no words can explain how amazing this trip was, we got to see 7 orcas in total including a mother with two 11month old little ones
We saw around 5 bald eagles and had an amazing guide, the man was very knowledgeable and helpful.
I honestly can not remember his name but he was fab!
Only thing I would say is dress for the boat, if you think you can walk round the market and get changed there , you will be wrong as they don’t have a changing room, I had to go and find somewhere to swap out of my shorts into my trousers

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Ellie2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hi Ellie,

Thank you very much for leaving us a great review. Your feedback is really important to us. How amazing that you got to see seven orcas including two baby's - how adorable!

The market on granville island itself has a couple of washrooms but the space can be limited. Our guests are always happy to help with these kinds of queries too but overall, it is best to come dressed for the boat as you noted :)

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

We did the half day whale watching tour, we were lucky with our whale sightings. Had the best day and Wilmer was so informative and interesting in what she had to tell us, when a group of jet skiers were heading towards the whales the captain of the boat was really angry with them and did everything he could to get them away. Really lovely to see how the crew including the captain care so genuinely for the whales. Although a little on the pricey side I would 100% recommend this company.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank globetrottingrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We really appreciate this and are delighted that you had the opportunity to learn from our Naturalist Wilma. We’re protective of our marine family and have a strong moral conscience to do everything we can to ensure these mammals are able to enjoy the place that they call home.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we would love to have you join us on another tour in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed very much the tour on May 31, 2019. Fantastic program, very friendly and knowledgable crew and a very experienced and patient captain. We got to see whales in two separate locations, group of seals in an island and many birds on the cliffs. The captain got of his way and in one occasion went back to show us the whales (see the chart). The flight back from Victoria to downtown Vancouver was very scenic. The entire program was very memorable.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Yousef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Hi Yousef,

Thank you so much for your awesome review. How great that you got to experience our whales and fly tour. Experiencing the beauty of BC from above and from the water is simply stunning! We are delighted to hear that you got the opportunity to see whales and other marine wildlife on our tour and that you had a memorable experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We saw many orcas-the Naturalist -Wilma -was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They provide blankets and sunscreen and their hot drinks are complimentary. They guarantee that you will see whales, and if you don’t, you get to go again at no additional charge. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank seebear1502018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. It is much appreciated. We do wish for our guests to be as comfortable as possible so there are always blankets, hats, gloves and complementary hot drinks on our catamaran and cruiser (ocean magic) vessels.

Thank you for your recommendation and we can't wait to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews