We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Vancouver
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $143.10
More Info
from $281.10
More Info
from $41.61
More Info
from $346.06
More Info
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
991
92
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
991
92
28
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic saw orcas knowledgeable crew entire crew half day tour captain anthony transient orcas fast boat comfortable boat respectful distance safe distance salish sea crew members top deck amazing experience great trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We had the opportunity to take the whale watching tour May 30. The staff was very friendly, especially Aurora , who was our guide. Very knowledgeable about the whales and their habitat. She answered our many questions without hestitation. We also met Aaron, our captain, who was very efficient in finding the whale families. Thank you again to the Prince of Whales staff!!! Pat Rankin and family.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank RobynR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Hi Robyn,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a great review. We really appreciate it and are so happy you enjoyed your tour with us! Thank you also for your great feedback about Aurora and Aaron!

We hope you will join us on another tour in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

We had an incredible time with the crew and it was very windy so it was a crazy ride on the ocean. We saw seals, sea lions, eagles, and other wildlife. Unfortunately, we did not see whales. However, Prince of Whales honors and guarantees a whale sighting. Therefore, we will be returning to do this again. Worth it since the crew was knowledgeable, fun, and accommodating to the weather.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Shelbs30Bowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you were not successful in seeing whales that day. Every tour is unpredictable and different in terms of what can be spotted. Just like whale watching anywhere in this region, or the world, sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales.

We do stand by our whale sighting guarantee and encourage our guests to join us on another tour in future at no cost, in the instance that no whales have been sighted. The experience of our guests is really important to us so please do contact us to arrange another booking. We would be happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

I wanted to see whales, and even though killer whales aren’t really whales, we saw plenty of them, including the killing of a seal and the breaching to celebrate a good lunch. The crew was great, Aaron went out of his route to keep us watching, and Wilma provided great interpretation. Thanks a lot

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank subfly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is much appreciated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you got the opportunity to see a pod of Orcas in the wild. Thank you also for your kind comments about our crew members Aaron and Wilma. They certainly holds a wealth of information when it comes to whale and marine wildlife.

We hope to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

This was truly an AMAZING afternoon! Captain Aaron and Wilma were incredible and exceeded all our expectations. Of course it did help that we saw five families of whales, plus a hunt and the whales breaching! All that to say, I cannot say enough about Wilma. We went with and 8 & 9 year old and she was SO attentive to them. They asked a ton of questions and she was so patient to listen to each and every one! They had free hot beverages, sunscreen and also blankets because it gets cold out there. These little things made it even better. We also had friends who didn’t see whales ten years ago and came this trip and got it for free because of guarantee...they had it saved in the system.

Thank huldagblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so happy to hear that you and your family has a great adventure with us. How amazing that you got to see a pod while they were on a hunt! Observing this behavior in the wild is fascinating to see.

Thank you also for your kind comments about Aaron and Wilma. They are very passionate about what they do and enjoy sharing their knowledge with others. How great that your friend came along on our trip again after ten years! Our year-round whale sighting guarantee policy is valid for a lifetime!

We would love to have you join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic experience on a very large comfortable and well equipped vessel. The team on the boat were fantastic, knew their stuff and went above and beyond to engage and inform us. The company has a very good ‘no whales’ policy - you come back free! We did just see a pair of whales through a fog, but the captain invoked the no wales policy anyway.

There are lots of options for different cruise/fly options between Vancouver and Victoria. The experience was great value and we had a great time.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank JimLad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi Jim,

Many thanks for leaving us a great review. We really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour with us and that you were very happy with the service from our staff.

We would love to have you join us on another tour in future the next time you are in Victoria, Vancouver or Telegraph Cove :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews