We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $142.48
More Info
from $41.44
More Info
from $279.90
More Info
from $190.98
More Info
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic half day tour knowledgeable crew captain anthony entire crew saw orcas fast boat safe distance salish sea crew members amazing experience transient orcas great trip top deck marine life open water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 371 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

We saw great whales! Unusually great whiles! And that was great! But the experience was amazing, very knowledgeable staff like Selena and Wilma. Great enthusiasm and so personable. and captain Anthony was great and worked to find us both orcas and humpbacks. And sea lions. And Bastian was helpful also. Our weather was great but it was still very very chilly. Even though on land it was warm and comfortable. So I recommend you dress warm enough, and bring a sandwich or snack or something. There are things like granola bars and crackers and drinks on the boat but you might want something more. We brought goodies from A Bread Affair Bakery down the street. The farmers market is close also, on Grandville island. That is worth seeing as well as 10,000 Villages also down the street. I wish I had better whale photos to show you, but trust me they were there and they were awesome.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Reniem250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hello Reniem,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are super appreciative of this!

It is so great to hear that you really enjoyed your tour with us and that you got to see both Orcas and Humpbacks - how amazing :)

Granville Island Public market is a great pit stop before or after you join a tour with us and we always encourage our guests to check it out!

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will join us on another tour in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

It was our first whale watching experience and I have to say it was good. The tour is well organized from the beginning to the end. They explained several things before the watching and during the watching. Luckily the weather was nice and the view of the whales was even more appreciated. It is a 5 hour tour and they serve only snacks on board . However, you are informed before departure. Overall it has been An experience that we will remember.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Bisa8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Hi Bisa,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and that the weather was behaving for you :)

You are correct that we do only serve snacks on board but passengers are more than welcome to bring their own snacks too!

We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This was the highlight of our visit to Vancouver. And yes we did see Orcas!!! The weather was beautiful but cold. The boat has plenty of seating inside and out and provides hot drinks for free. This was a wonderful experience even without the whales. The views of the mountains, lake side homes and other wild life made the whole trip interesting. Would do it again, was just a great afternoon. The staff are friendly and informative and talk with such passion. It was just a thrill to see these lovely creatures.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank rhoda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Hi Rhoda,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted that you got to observe Orcas and the beautiful nature that BC has to offer.Thank you also for your great comments about our staff.

We would love for you to join us on another tour in future the next time you are in the area :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

We have just got back from a brilliant trip with these guys. Great fast boat which meant we got to the other side of the water much quicker than many of the other companies which gave us longer in the areas where we could start searching for the whales. It is a big boat but they don’t overcrowd it so there is a seat for everyone, both inside and outside. Safety is clearly very important to them with a good clear safety briefing - good to see the crew wearing life jackets as they dock and un dock.
We were particularly lucky with multiple pods of transient orca. The crew were themselves very excited as it was an unusual sight, which was lovely.
Lots of communication one on one during the trip as the crew came round to us in small groups to chat things through, explain where we were going and what we had seen. Then at the end, they airdropped all the photos they had taken. If you don’t have an apple device then they will e mail. Lovely lovely people, I would thoroughly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank candercathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Hi Cathy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! How great that you got to see many pods of transient Orcas! We have been lucky to see an abundance of transient Orcas recently as they travel to hunt a variety of marine wildlife including Sea Lions and Seals!

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. We will be sure to pass on your great comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

We went out with the tour on Saturday. The wind was the worst in a decade. Due to the very rough waters, the boat went into Howe Sound. We saw seals, sea lions, and awe inspiring views. Unfortunately, no whales. Then, using their “guarantee to see whales”, we rescheduled for yesterday. Many companies offer guarantees, but these people mean it. The weather was perfect, and we saw a pod of Orca. The crew works very well to let you have great views of the Orca, and not distress the animals. The trip was a perfect end to a wonderful week in Vancouver. You’re not going to find a more enjoyable crew, or tour, anywhere.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RobB872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Hi Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are sorry to hear that you didn't get to see the whales on the first time you took a tour with us. So great that it was second time lucky for you and that you had lovely weather too!

Thank you for your kind words about our crew too - They are pretty awesome! We would love to have you join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews