We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from $142.48
More Info
from $41.44
More Info
from $279.90
More Info
from $190.98
More Info
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
28
9
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butchart gardens ocean magic half day tour knowledgeable crew entire crew captain anthony saw orcas fast boat safe distance salish sea crew members amazing experience transient orcas great trip top deck marine life open water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 371 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

We have just got back from a brilliant trip with these guys. Great fast boat which meant we got to the other side of the water much quicker than many of the other companies which gave us longer in the areas where we could start searching for the whales. It is a big boat but they don’t overcrowd it so there is a seat for everyone, both inside and outside. Safety is clearly very important to them with a good clear safety briefing - good to see the crew wearing life jackets as they dock and un dock.
We were particularly lucky with multiple pods of transient orca. The crew were themselves very excited as it was an unusual sight, which was lovely.
Lots of communication one on one during the trip as the crew came round to us in small groups to chat things through, explain where we were going and what we had seen. Then at the end, they airdropped all the photos they had taken. If you don’t have an apple device then they will e mail. Lovely lovely people, I would thoroughly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank candercathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Hi Cathy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! How great that you got to see many pods of transient Orcas! We have been lucky to see an abundance of transient Orcas recently as they travel to hunt a variety of marine wildlife including Sea Lions and Seals!

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. We will be sure to pass on your great comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

We went out with the tour on Saturday. The wind was the worst in a decade. Due to the very rough waters, the boat went into Howe Sound. We saw seals, sea lions, and awe inspiring views. Unfortunately, no whales. Then, using their “guarantee to see whales”, we rescheduled for yesterday. Many companies offer guarantees, but these people mean it. The weather was perfect, and we saw a pod of Orca. The crew works very well to let you have great views of the Orca, and not distress the animals. The trip was a perfect end to a wonderful week in Vancouver. You’re not going to find a more enjoyable crew, or tour, anywhere.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RobB872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Hi Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are sorry to hear that you didn't get to see the whales on the first time you took a tour with us. So great that it was second time lucky for you and that you had lovely weather too!

Thank you for your kind words about our crew too - They are pretty awesome! We would love to have you join us on another tour again the next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't see any whales but totally understand that can happen these are wild animals. We were offered a free return trip but are unable to use. The boat was clean & comfortable. The staff, friendly & very knowledgeable.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Z3104NFhelend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen K, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you were not successful in seeing whales that day. Every tour is unpredictable and different in terms of what can be spotted. Just like whale watching anywhere in this region, or the world, sometimes we aren't lucky enough to see whales.

We do stand by our whale sighting guarantee and encourage our guests to join us on another tour in future at no cost, in the instance that no whales have been sighted but we do understand that it's not always feasible for guests to return. Customer experience is extremely important to us and we take all feedback into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

It was raining and they do not provide any rain gear. They did provide blankets as it was cold and the covered part of the boat was crowded. They did provide water down hot chocolate. The cost to go see the whales is quite expensive and they were so far away that you did not get a good look. The guides were good and did their best to entertain the group.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaureenKin, Communications Coordinator at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Hi Dawn,

We are very sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations.

We don’t typically provide rain gear as apart from our Zodiac vessels, our boats all have a covered area/deck that accommodates all guests in the case of rain. We recommend our guests dress for the weather conditions (rain or shine) as our tours depart but we do have blankets, gloves and hats on board available at request.

It is federally mandated that all vessels must stay 200m away from killer whales. We take these regulations very seriously as not to influence the behavior of the marine animals in any way. We want to respect the fact that these are wild animals and we will remain impartial observers.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments in relation to our employees. We are very proud of our passionate and hard-working team. We appreciate all customer feedback and will take this into account going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

We went out on the first day, and didn't see any whales. However, they allow you to come back anytime for no charge. We ended up going the next day, and within 10 minutes, saw a pod of orca whales! The guides are very knowledgable, and they respect the wildlife. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank jackiehH6055ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews