We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service and luxury to the nth degree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The concierge service at this hotel is the finest I have ever encountered!!! I emailed and spoke with Sureena on several occasions prior to the trip. She was extremely helpful and professional. It was such a pleasure to work with her. She arranged for a car/driver to pick up my parents from the train station and to take them on a guided tour of the city. She took care to address my questions about the Vancourver Art Gallery and various restaurants etc. Every detail requested was taken care of including what I wanted supplied in the hotel room, and ensuring that Tammy was available to carefully explain all the details of the room -- everything is automated -- lights, curtains etc. My parents had never seen such luxury -- the bathroom is the same size of a usual hotel room. The services in the hotel and the restaurants are superb. As my father had difficulty walking to the restaurant, Richard, the restaurant manager, and Virginia and David, helped to provide assistance and ensured my parents had a special evening. This is a place where they take care to serve your every need. This is amazing hospitality. The hotel is well located and is sumptious in its design. If you want to have a special experience and pamper yourself -- this is the place to be. They have a fabulous spa in this hotel -- perfect for a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cohenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

My room was so delightful, that I didn't want to leave it. The room was immaculate, very clean. The bathroom was my favorite, with a huge soaking tub, see thru shower, and a tv in the mirror. Everything in the bathroom felt and looked like white marble from the border around the tub to the tile on the floor. The bed was unbelievable, so comfortable that it made the Hilton and Marriott hotel bed feel like a Motel 6 bed. In general, the whole room was elegant with wood that looked like mahogany. As a single woman, I felt very secure because you have to have a room card to activate the elevator, your room control, and other facilities throughout the hotel. I loved the technology, just push a button and the drapes would open, lights dim to reading, evening, or night, even "do not disturb" under your room number lights up at the push of a button. At most hotels, you can hear everyone in the next room. I didn't hear anyone in the neighboring rooms. Very quiet and nice large room, equal in size to any hotel suite room. This hotel was awesome, and I would suggest it to anybody that wanted to stay in a nice hotel while visiting Vancouver. It's in a excellent location in downtown Vancouver. It's close to the pier for cruise ships visitors, like myself, Robson St., Stanley Park, Amtrak, and restaurants galore. I paid a little over $300 a night on Expedia and got an awesome room at the Shangri-La with an incredible view and breakfast. The service at breakfast was excellent. They had fresh squeezed orange juice! I had the pancakes with real Canadian maple syrup, bacon, and fresh fruit. My favorite special touch was that in my room each day was a complimentary bottle of Whistler water, and a fresh fruit plate (banana, apple, and plum) that had a very special note, with my name hand written on it, that welcomed me to my room, and the Shangri-La. I've stayed at a lot of hotels including the Waldorf Astoria in Orlando, and Royal Hawaiian in Honolulu, and this hotel was more awesome than any hotel that I've ever been blessed to encounter. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer at the Shangri-La, I even begged for a late check out time, but it wasn't available because another guest was waiting on my room. The business center was even elelgant with big screen Sony computer, with free internet, and 5 print pages. The lady that helped me in the business center was great, and very nice. Even the people that greeted me at the door, and parked my car, bent over backwards to help me find locations in Vancouver. There were people needing to get by me in the parking garage, and the doormen stayed calm, and nicely gave me directions to the Amtrak, and post office. One of the doormen, even programmed my GPS! I guarantee that if you stay at the Shangri-La hotel, you will be pleasantly pleased and impressed with this hotel, and customer service. Every staff member seemed very concern about me having a good time and constantly asked me if I needed anything to enhance my visit. Shangri-La thanks for a wonderful visit in downtown Vancouver. Currently, I'm still dreaming about that huge soaking tub, tv in the mirror, and pancakes with maple syrup! I wish that room 1506 would have fitted into one of my bags. I would have loved to have taken a piece of the Shangri-La home!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank user980401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

During a recent Alaskan Cruise due to mechanical difficulties we were unable to visit Vancouver. So we decided to go on our own. After researching hotels we decided on the Shangri-La. Thank goodness we did!! What exceptional service. Jarren the concierge never and I mean never steared us wrong!! We enjoyed every minute of the 3 days we had, we had great food, drink and hit all the great spots. If he didn't take the time each day to help us out and point us in the right direction it may not have been so rewarding. He went above and beyond. The hotel is just glorious, amenities are superior and the spa also is top notch. If you have the opportunity go, don't pass this one up!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaobella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

WOW
Such an amazing experience (Never been so satisfied with a hotel in my life and ive stayed at lots of them all around the world).
The minute you walk in to the lobby, you almost feel like you have been at a health spa for the last 10 days! Every staff member i encountered from the room maid to the breakfast manager were so polite and courteous with everything from information, to services ect...We needed some last minute flight details printed and they were more than happy to print out our itinerary's.
I have told everyone!!!
Loved every minute of it, and so worth every cent.
Thanks for an incredible time. Will be back again :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This is the highest level of service I have ever experienced in a hotel. I have stayed at many 4-5 star places (including the other nice hotel "L" nearby) and I must say this was so far the best. There was something about the way the people who worked there had a genuine appreciation for you being there. Unlike many "expensive" hotels that can be snobby, these people treat you with respect and genuine kindness. When we arrived in their car reception area they were so nice and professional on how they handled everything. We were driving our hybrid and most of the cars there were very expensive including a Lambo parked up front. Again they treated us with the highest level of service regardless of what we were driving (you all know what I mean).

The Girl at the front desk was extremely personal and professional and had told us that the hotel had "complimentary upgraded" us to the next level of room . Wow, were were surprised when we heard that. We had chosen the "Autumn" package which includes free parking and a breakfast each morning at their incredible restaurant MARKET by Jean-Georges. When we arrived at out room,
it was so incredible; everything so clean we couldn't believe it!!! There was a personal "hand written" note from the general manager "Mr Brea" thanking us for choosing their hotel and wishing us a great stay. Where did they find this person? Its like out of a movie to see this kind of service from ANY hotel these days.

The room was huge and well designed and included 2 balconies to see outside. The quality of the finishes, the lack of dust anywhere was awesome. The bed is one of the best I have ever slept on in a hotel and I wanted to take in home in my suitcase ( and we sleep on a dux!!):)

The entire place must be appreciated by those wanting an experience that's unpretentious and yet of the highest class. We will be back.

Randy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandolphJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Awesome room, central location, fantastic concierge staff, professional and efficient front desk and bell staff. All together enjoyable. Staff took lots of time with us... on everything from making restaurant reservations to making arrangements to park our oversized car (based on 2 seventeen -foot kayaks on top).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel was a choice for one night before our return to Toronto from being at Sonora Resort for 3 nights.
I chose it because of reviews on TripAdvisor.
When we arrived we asked for an upgrade from an executive suite to a 1-bedroom - we were given this for $40 extra.
The room was really nice and had some very cool modern features such as a TV built right into the mirror in the bathroom.
The only thing that I would complain about was the couch size in the suite area of the 1-bedroom - it is not made for a man or women taller than 5'6" - it is short and uncomfortable.
The restaurant has the signature of a Michelin 3 star chef - Jean-Georges, but the food and service were VERY average. The restaurant was very noise and out on the heated terrace (which is a nice touch) the dance/techno music was pounding - we switched tables.
All in all, for one night it was comfortable and the amenities were what you would expect for $400/night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanuckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,212 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,039 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $247 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing