We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La Vancouver BC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This is the highest level of service I have ever experienced in a hotel. I have stayed at many 4-5 star places (including the other nice hotel "L" nearby) and I must say this was so far the best. There was something about the way the people who worked there had a genuine appreciation for you being there. Unlike many "expensive" hotels that can be snobby, these people treat you with respect and genuine kindness. When we arrived in their car reception area they were so nice and professional on how they handled everything. We were driving our hybrid and most of the cars there were very expensive including a Lambo parked up front. Again they treated us with the highest level of service regardless of what we were driving (you all know what I mean).

The Girl at the front desk was extremely personal and professional and had told us that the hotel had "complimentary upgraded" us to the next level of room . Wow, were were surprised when we heard that. We had chosen the "Autumn" package which includes free parking and a breakfast each morning at their incredible restaurant MARKET by Jean-Georges. When we arrived at out room,
it was so incredible; everything so clean we couldn't believe it!!! There was a personal "hand written" note from the general manager "Mr Brea" thanking us for choosing their hotel and wishing us a great stay. Where did they find this person? Its like out of a movie to see this kind of service from ANY hotel these days.

The room was huge and well designed and included 2 balconies to see outside. The quality of the finishes, the lack of dust anywhere was awesome. The bed is one of the best I have ever slept on in a hotel and I wanted to take in home in my suitcase ( and we sleep on a dux!!):)

The entire place must be appreciated by those wanting an experience that's unpretentious and yet of the highest class. We will be back.

Randy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandolphJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

Awesome room, central location, fantastic concierge staff, professional and efficient front desk and bell staff. All together enjoyable. Staff took lots of time with us... on everything from making restaurant reservations to making arrangements to park our oversized car (based on 2 seventeen -foot kayaks on top).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel was a choice for one night before our return to Toronto from being at Sonora Resort for 3 nights.
I chose it because of reviews on TripAdvisor.
When we arrived we asked for an upgrade from an executive suite to a 1-bedroom - we were given this for $40 extra.
The room was really nice and had some very cool modern features such as a TV built right into the mirror in the bathroom.
The only thing that I would complain about was the couch size in the suite area of the 1-bedroom - it is not made for a man or women taller than 5'6" - it is short and uncomfortable.
The restaurant has the signature of a Michelin 3 star chef - Jean-Georges, but the food and service were VERY average. The restaurant was very noise and out on the heated terrace (which is a nice touch) the dance/techno music was pounding - we switched tables.
All in all, for one night it was comfortable and the amenities were what you would expect for $400/night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanuckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is the most disappointing stay at a Shangri-la I have had. It may very well be that my expectations are too high for the brand or that I should not expect the same level of service that I find in Asia but still if it says Shangri-la in the outside it should also be one in the inside.
The room may be a bit small but it is very comfortable and functional. Nice gym. Good bathroom with the usual L'Occitane amenities. Nice lobby. Excellent room service. So far it would describe a well appointed 5* hotel in most places. However it is service that makes the brand superlative: concierge was too casual and not that friendly, guest services was not precise in its answers.

The Market by Jean Georges has serious management issues. It should be thoroughly reviewed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

No complaints here but one... no room service after 11PM!! They just offer a very brief menu passed this time... We called at 11:05, and there was no way we could get a plate of spaghetti!
Come on! This is a shagri-la!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Amazing hotel, fantastic genuinely friendly and helpful staff, great location. We got the breakfast deal, it is not buffet, but the food was excellent. Gorgeous rooms, with great mattresses. Our only complaint was that we stayed 7 nights and asked for quiet room but were put near the lifts. However the doors are quite thick so it was relatively quiet, however l would have appreciated them putting us in a quieter room considering the length of stay.
Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLEAVES27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at the Shangri La for 4 nights with our labradour retriever. Both we and our dog were warmly welcomed - in our room was a beautiful dog bed an bowl awaiting our canine family member. I was hesitant to bring him to such a sophisticated place, but I was delightfully surprised with his treatment.
The rooms are incredibly modern and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. So much so, that I contacted management to find out how I could get one for myself. It's a foam top, in case you were wondering. Electronic black out blinds make the room a heavenly cove.
Look into expedia.ca where we got a deal that included valet parking and breakfast (a real breakfast!). French toast is delicious breakfast-cake.
Food at Jean Georges is FABULOUS. Outdoor patio has no view at all.
All-in-all, a wonderful stay. Well worth it's price. To compare, we stayed at the Marriott Pinnacle with an ocean view, and felt cheated because we weren't at the Shangri La!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetripper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,185 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,802 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,790 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $238 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing