We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive with many quirks to warrant 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Mmmmm......interesting hotel with many quirks.
We are traveling the west coast, staying at 5* hotels throughout, the Shangri-La was the most expensive around $600 per night, and unfortunately scored the lowest overall.

Pros: super attentive, discreet staff, you get the impression nothing would be too much to ask for.
Beautiful corridors, bathrooms (large and luxurious), balconies and hotel lounge.
Comfortable beds, tasteful decor and fab light switches with dimmers.
Nice hand written note, apricots and cookies awaiting us in our room.

Cons: bizarre entrances; from the below ground car park/ check-in to the downright weird street level (no signage or markings) concierge? You are shunted downstairs to a tiny desk which felt like an airport car drop off. As a first impression, this sucked.
Our corner suite room was also a bizarre layout, with a huge dark wood inner paneled hall, leading to a very small lounge/work area. The hall is larger than the living area and a complete waste of space. The large desk also obscures the best view of the suite. If this is feng shui it doesn't work-it's rather baffling.

The location is so-so neither good nor bad.... not close to the waterfront with no views and a couple of blocks to the downtown main area. There were also a few entitled, young Asian princesses hanging at the (v small) pool. Their mother apparently owned an apartment there and they thought nothing of talking smack about girls they knew, fat models!?! and cussing in front of children. Not the hotels fault, for sure - but maybe an indication of the clientelle.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank eurostylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear eurostylist,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that our staff was very discreet and has provided their services to you and that you find our bathrooms and balconies large and luxurious. I do apologise if you find our lower lobby a bit confusing and that your room layout is quite bizarre. I still hope that you had a nice time during your stay with us and hopefully give us a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

I am spending 4 glorious nights in the Shangri-La in downtown Vancouver (currently on my 3rd night) and I don't want to leave. This hotel has far exceeded my expectations, from the staff to the food to the room, everything is outstanding. The staff is not overly intrusive, but always available to help. I love that they all magically know my name. I have a one bedroom suite and it is lovely-well appointed and has every amenity imaginable. The bed is so comfortable, I have no problems sleeping. I will say there are so many buttons in the room, it makes my head swim. It look me about 15 minutes to figure out how to open the drapes, as they are operated by a nifty button somewhere in the room. The terrace is lovely, overlooks the pool. My only mild annoyance is that there is a lot of high-rise construction across from my particular room so it is very noisy and ruins the ambiance on the terrace. It is muffled when the door is shut, and they start after 8AM so I cant say it has disturbed my sleep. But it does take away the enjoyment on the patio. Not enough for me to ask for another room, but if it bothers you-make sure to request the non-construction facing side of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel, and I will certainly make this my luxury hotel chain of choice in the future - assuming I can ever afford it again! Lovely stay, lovely staff and lovely accommodations.

Room Tip: If the noise is a concern, as about construction on the adjacent buildings and request a room not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear joybuyer,

Thank you for taking time in writing your comments. I am very glad to hear that you are currently enjoying your stay with us and that our staff has exceeded your expectations. I do apologise for the disturbance from the construction across the street as this is something that we are unable to control. We hope to be your preferred hotel for all your visits to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at this beautiful property before our Alaskan cruise. Very easy to get to downtown via train. Hotel staff was extremeley helpful and freindly. We arrived early from PHL and I had called the hotel prior to leaving to notify them, however when we arrived our room was not ready. They offered an upgrade to a suite for $40, which was totally worth it after a long flight.

The room was extremely comfortable and clean. Nice views of the city from the balcony.

We did not take advantage of any other services provided by the hotel, however there were plenty to choose from.

Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you find our rooms extremely comfortable and clean. Our hotel staff indeed is one of our best assets and that is something we are very proud of. We definitely hope to see you again on your next trip to Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. The hotel actually is in three portions; the hotel and 1 bedroom condos and 2 bedroom condos. I was lucky to stay with a member of my family in her 1 bedroom condo. We had access to the hotel amenities like the restaurants within it. The security was so tight and it made me feel very comfortable. I went shopping, eating out, attended a art gallery exhibition, attended an Indian classical music concert at Simon Fraser University; all within walking distant. There are so many restaurants and excellent coffee shops all around. I never felt intimidated or afraid - day or night.

Room Tip: I only had the experience of the condo from where the views were great. I could see the Trump Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Esmail J,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the residences and that you enjoyed our hotel amenities. We are indeed located in the downtown core, very near to shopping street and excellent restaurants and coffee shops. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed for one night and paid $1256 for a one night stay. We did order room service and had dinner in the restaurant. It was good, but we were not blown away. I was hoping to be becasue of spending that sort of money. All the staff are courteous and very helpful. The room was gorgeous but it did have dirty tired carpets and the view was marred by tall office buildings in the way. We paid for an $150 upgrade for the view but it was not worth it.. The food was good but just not amazing. I don't know what I was expecting but I just was not blown away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Julianna Z,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I apologise if you feel that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. I hope that we can still have an opportunity to welcome you back at the Shangri-La Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Let me start off by saying that my girlfriend and I had an amazing weekend in Vancouver. It was our first time visiting and staying at the Shangri-La was definitely the right choice. The hotel boasts the only 5 diamond rating in Vancouver, and the service was for the most part, amazing. Big thanks to Vincent at the front desk for making us so comfortable and Eric for providing first aid to my gf after she burned herself with a curling iron.

I did have two issues, one was when we asked for extra towels and a pillow and no one came for 30 min, I had to call back and ask again and the concierge claimed that they knew nothing about my previous call. The other was the lady at the check in desk, who didn't really know what she was doing and got our reservation mixed up and also couldn't answer simple questions such as when the pool closes. Vincent cleared that all up, thanks again! The overall experience was still really great, the hotel is beautiful and really conveniently located to great food and shops. Everyone else was really helpful, and the Jean-Georges restaurant had the BEST desserts. I'm a fan, and will definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alchie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Alchie07,

Thank you for taking time in writing your thoughts and comments. I am glad to know that you and your girlfriend had an amazing weekend stay with us. I will pass on your note to Vincent and Eric, I am sure that they will be very humbled by your words. I would like to apologise for the delay of the extra towels and pillow as per your request and that if our front desk agent had mixed up your reservation with someone else. We hope to see you and your girlfriend back on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Really nice room, incl balcony, amenities etc. Great food for dinner and breakfast. Very nice Spa treatment. Excellent concierge, really helpful. Good location. A few blocks off train station for a 4$ metro to airport. (more in evening). This is a hotel I want to go back to. Definately.

Room Tip: Consider upgrade to suite for a co pay at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumball997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear gumball997,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our room, food and spa during your recent stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,213 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $248 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing