We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-La for six days before our cruise to Alaska. We were so impressed with this hotel and the professional and friendly way in which we were looked after that we rebooked for two more days post our cruise. We are here now and after the cruise it felt like coming home, with such a warm welcome from staff. We found the Asian influence both relaxing and calming in a major city environment. However, it is also well placed for wonderful shops and restaurants. We intend to return to this hotel in the near future.

Sandy and George
UK

Room Tip: We had a corner executive deluxe room with partial views over the port. Light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sandy & George,
Thank you for your kind review. There is no greater compliment than a returning guest..... In your case, you returned twice on the same trip =)
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and appreciate our "Asian Hospitality" in Vancouver.
We indeed are located right on the premier shopping street (Alberni Street) in Vancouver and as you mentioned, walking distance to most of the best restaurants in the city.
Sandy & George, we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    205
    58
    33
    9
See reviews for
290
705
112
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Treated my wife to a stay-cation and overnight for her birthday. I chose the Shangri-La based on reputation and the impression that this was THE top in town. We were not wrong.

We were given a typical room, but for this hotel it was very spacious and deluxe. Massive king bed, huge flat-screen tv, lots of plugs and docking stations, and a very large bathroom nicely with separate tub & shower as well as a separate toilet room and even a little tv screen within the bathroom mirror as the most classy and nouveau hotels now have.

Interesting that there was no Bible at all, but instead there was a copy of James Hilton's Lost Horizon on hand. Now, I'm not sure about boasting about and being influenced by an author who has the same name of one of your hotel competitors, but it seems that this classic novel is where a lot of the "shangri-la" catch-phrases come from.

For instance a really nice touch were the bookmarks on our pillows upon arrival, complete with wistful saying printing on the front.

Even better was the token complimentary gift of a small cake as well as the most immaculate purple rose I have ever seen given to my wife for her birthday celebration. It all almost (almost) put me and my efforts to shame!!

With an illustrious hotel like this, it's the little things that count most. The attentive service, quality everywhere, and lastly that personal touch. The Shangri-La Vancouver keeps meeting, if not surpassing, that bar. And really, it is all for a remarkably affordable price too.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Can't wrong. What is mysterious is that this hotel is contained in the tallest skyscaper in Van...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear MatthewV,

Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am very delighted to hear that you have decided to stay with us during your wife's birthday. It is so nice to know that both of your had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Even though we only stayed one day, we enjoyed ever minute. The room was very spacious with asian inspired decor which offered a very relaxing environment. All the public spaces were simple yet welcoming and comfortable. And of course the staff were all professional and very helpful. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and do not have any negative comments about this wonderful property in the heart of Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear JCW461,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us, hopefully you can stay longer on your next visit. It is so nice to hear that you find our room very spacious and really like the Asian inspired decors and that our staff were all professional and very helpful. We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have checked out of the Shangri La Vanouver after 23 straight nights there. We had an A+ stay. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and endeavored to learn most of our groups name---and there were a lot of us----. The rooms are great and the bed---well---it was so good that I just ordered the same one from the hotel to ship to my home--so I would say that is quite an endorsement for sleep comfort.

Just a block away is Joe Forte's Seafood Restaurant, where we ended up quite often (try Happy Hour there, 50% of the appetizer menu and $1 buck an oyster (4 to 6 PM). We were there…a lot. Also check out their roof bar during the good weather days--easy to not even discover if you don't know it's there.

The hotel breakfast was wonderful….(not a buffet, but ala carte), but a good number of choices (a particular favorite for our group was the maple bacon).

The hotel never lets its (very friendly) bartenders over pour drinks by even a quarter ounce, no matter how loyal a customer you are, but there is also a liquor store one block up the street if you feel like a great room party and want to stock up. Oysters at the the hotel bar/restaurant are great, as is their cheeseburger if you want a bit of comfort food.

The concierge would always be able to get us into a nearby restaurant even if the restaurant itself would say they had no tables, so this was very helpful.

And the hotel is only a few blocks down from the water and the port terminal, so its' a nice walk.

Bottom line: It was a great stay and we'll be back.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear WorldTravelerAsia,

Thank you so much for taking time in writing this review about our hotel and services. It is to nice to learn that you enjoyed your 23 straight nights at our hotel and that you had an A+ stay the entire time. I will pass on your comments to the team as I am sure that they will be very delighted to learn that we had provided excellent service to you during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Shangri-la chain has always been my favorite in Asia so I was curious how it would translate to North America. I wasn't disappointed. As always, its the staff that make the experience special. The hotel is very nicely located, well decorated, furnished and maintained. But the staff were superb - check-in/out, concierge, restaurant and room service staff, housekeeping etc etc. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank HJF209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear HJF209,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to learn that our staff had made your experience as special as your other visits to our other Shangri-La properties in Asia. We definitely look forward seeing you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I recently visited Vancouver on a quick 3 day vacation from Calgary and decided to spend a little and stay at the Shangri La as a treat. I walked into the Shangri la from the street entrance where I was immediately greeted by a friendly concierge representative who directed me downstairs to the check in. Something about the hotel is that it is not "grandeur", but flawlessly executes understated elegance and luxury. Its not about extravagance, but more about making the whole hotel look well put together and relaxing to be in. I was checked in by an extremely helpful and pleasant lady who had notified that we had already been upgraded to a suite. She offered me an upgrade to a larger suite under the penthouse, but we graciously declined.
The room was fantastic, beautifully appointed, amazingly clean, Nespresso coffee in nice Japanese china, marble everything in the large bathroom.
Our unit had a balcony which unfortunately faces right out onto the construction of the trump tower, which was nice to get a quick vantage point of city, however, was far too loud to sit outside on. I understand that the construction across the street is not the hotels fault, but it ended up being a major pian when it started again at 6:30AM the next morning and we were trying to catch up on some much needed rest in the amazing beds. I room not facing the construction would have been greatly appreciated, or at least a warning, so we could adjust appropriately. For what it’s worth, I am not a very sound sensitive sleeper - this was loud!
The second problem revolved around when we came into the hotel later in the evening. As we walked into the check in area of the lobby we were greeted with an unfriendly a "do you need directions?", insinuating that we (young, casually dressed), did not belong at such a hotel.
Small things that really took away from an otherwise excellent hotel. Location is also amazing for the record.

Room Tip: Away from the construction side of the hotel is a must if your going on a weekday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear NeilCanuk,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to learn that you find our hotel very relaxing and that our staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would like to personally apologise for the construction noise endured during you stay with us and if you felt that our lobby staff was very unfriendly. I assure you that this is not what we strive for. We hope that you would still remember the wonderful experience with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

...it does come at a cost. For a value traveller, this will probably not meet your criteria but it is an excellent hotel with a wonderful workout facility. I did not rate it as excellent because I was disappointed with how long I had to wait to register with the hotel and discovered that a building is being constructed across the street from my room. Coming from the east, I was planning on going to sleep closer to 7 pm but was kept up for a couple of hours because of this construction.

The front desk staff should have notified me of this at such a high-end hotel.

I've stayed a several higher-end hotels in Vancouver and this is one of the better ones. It's very modern, great room and wonderful workout facitities. They're probably trying to compete with the Four Seasons but I'm not sure if they have everything right, yet.

My firm also hosted an event in one of their meeting rooms. My team found their staff very helpful and the lunch served was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear stinkyrules,

Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am glad that you had a very favourable experience with us during your recent stay and on your firm's lunch event in one of our meeting rooms. I apologise for the disturbance coming from the construction across the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,456 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing