We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service and Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend without driving too far (we live in the Fraser Valley). After reading several reviews we decided on the Shagri-La hotel, and we were sure glad we did. When we showed up at the underground lobby, the courteous valet service took our car and bags. The front office service manager, Alex Yao, informed us that the room would be ready in 15 minutes (apologized for the wait) and took us to the restaurant bar for a round of drinks while we waited. He then brought us our keys in less than 10 minutes and had our bags waiting in the room. He offered to make several calls for reservations and dinner suggestions and we had a great night! The room was spectacular with all of the most modern amenities including tv in the bathroom mirror. Breakfast in the morning (included in the reservation to my surprise) was world class with tons of offerings. The restaurant service was impeccable. And when we checked out at noon, Alex was still there and held our luggage and provided bottles of water for us while we walked around town. We will definitely be back. Nothing but smiles. Thanks Alex Yao and the rest of the world class Shangri-La hotel staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Brigues,

Thank you for your comments, I will pass on your message to Alex Yao, he will be humbled by your words. I am glad that you and your wife enjoyed your recent staycation in our hotel and we look forward welcoming you back the next time you decide for another short trip in Vancouver.

Kind Regards,

Kari Koskela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not a pleasant stay. Every time I called to make sure everything was requested was put in the system but each time everything was not taken care of. found an used bottle of water in the room. my credit card was charged after I checked out & I requested to pay all in cash, everything was settle & then I got surprised charge on my bill. Not honest. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
4  Thank 260Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear 260Sam,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that we fell short on the requests you made prior to your arrival and that you found an used bottle of water in the room. Unfortunately, our records do not indicate this been brought to our attention for immediate follow-up.
The credit card charges might be the authorization upon check-in, which is standard in most hotels in North America. The amount should be released within 3-5 working days upon your check-out. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this have caused during your recent stay with us. We hope that you will consider us again next time you have a need for hotel accommodation in Vancouver.

Thank you and Kind Regards,
Kari Koskela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for 6 days for business trip and was impressed with every aspect. The location, staff, rooms and decor was top-notch. I can see why the rates are what they are because it's worth every penny. You really feel like you're in a 5 diamond property with the caliber of service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for taking time writing us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your long stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a great time. Room smaller than what we expected but great, top quality service and great location. Breakfast was included in our package but not too much to chose. Food quality was good. All the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armenak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the beautiful Shangri-La Hotel in Vancouver, BC. While we have stayed at other Shangri-La properties in the past (Thailand, Singapore and Hong Kong) we had never stayed at the property in Vancouver, BC.
As expected, the hotel was absolutely beautiful and located in an ideal location just a few blocks away from the popular sites and attractions. During our stay we were able to walk to some of our favorite locations, including Stanley Park and Granville Island.
The staff at the hotel was superb and truly second-to-none. Each and every person that we met were extremely friendly and helpful. In particular, we want to make mention of both Iyru and Jeanelle who took great care of us while we were having treatments in CHI, The Spa. In addition, Jui at the concierge desk was of great assistance and our server Erin Kim at Xishi was exceptional.
As others have previously mentioned, the breakfast is incredible.
The only criticism that I have deals with an issue that we encountered when we attempted to redeem a credit voucher that was supposedly included in the City Escape package that we had pre-purchased . It seems as though there was a bit of confusion about the actual dollar amount that we were to receive. The hotel website stated "up to $200 credit" to be used for the purchase of food in one of the hotel restaurants. When we checked-in to the hotel we were told that we were to receive a $50 credit - not a $200 credit as stated on the website. When we pointed out the special on the website it was clear that there were no stated stipulations to receiving the $200. In fact, the staff member who was helping us agreed that it stated "up to $200" with no mention as to why it would be less than what was listed (i.e. the size of the room booked, number of days stayed, etc.).
When the staff member called a "manager" to inquire about the advertised special they were told that the amount of the credit was based on the type of room that was booked (even though it did not state that on the website) and that our credit was $50. Apparently, the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver website is shared with a central booking center and they have no control over such matters. In my opinion, whether or not they have control over this matter is of no consequince. The situation was clearly a bait and switch tactic and rather than honoring what was clearly stated on what "appears" to be their website, they deferred to an erroneous error in the central booking system. It seems to me that the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver has everything going for it (beautiful rooms, amazing staff and delicious food/drinks) with the exception of taking responsibility for their own mistakes. Such a shame...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwennpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about Eryu, Janelle, Jui and Erin. They will be grateful and elated by your good comments about them. I apologise if you had some issues with regards to the package inclusions. Please note that I have addressed your point with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future. We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

stayed the weekend and the service was excellent. got our suite upgraded when we 1st arrived. but check in and out was confusing. when we gave them our credit card info. just about ruined our trip when we checked out. but the manager on shift was friendly about it. definitely my favorite hotel in Vancouver by far. Had breakfast and dinner at the MARKET restaurant. food was amazing as well the waiter we had. our suite we had was great the bathroom was amazing my girlfriend loved it.
only thing we didn't find impressive was the hotel lobby. was nothing compared to other hotels such as the FOUR SEASONS

Room Tip: ask if there is any construction on your side of the building or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

I apologise if we fell short with your billing information and if our check-in area was confusing on your recent stay with us. But I am glad that our Manager on Duty was able to recover quickly and was able to provide excellent service to you. I will pass on your great comments with the front office team and staff from MARKET by Jean-Georges, I know that they will be humbled by your words. We hope to see you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for an extended weekend, and the service was excellent from the time we pulled up to the reception lobby. The Deluxe double room we booked was quite large for not being a suite, with a sofa and large tv. The detail in the rooms, including generous beautiful wood paneling and walls in some area gave the room a very rich, elegant, yet modern feel to it.

The room service we ordered did not taste fresh, nor was it memorable, but the breakfast in the restaurant was just excellent. Maybe the kitchen is different for the room service than the main restaurant but we decided from that not to order room service again, but to go down and eat. The house car was quite convenient and readily available, and took us to most places that we desired to go to.

The hotel is rather quiet, so if you are looking for less business oriented hotel, in a more tourist friendly area, that has a bit more happening around it, then choose the Fairmont Pacific Rim. If you are looking for a quiet hotel then this is an excellent option. The restaurant is just great, with excellent food. Overall, an excellent stay, but since was there for leisure, and not business, would prefer a little more going on in the area. Besides that, it is an excellent hotel, just suggest eating in actual restaurant than the room service.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, otherwise you'll just be staring at an office building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Firstly, thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for the Shangri-La Hotel. We are glad that we were able to provide excellent service for you and your family during your recent stay with us and that you found your Deluxe Room very spacious and comfortable.
I would like to personally apologise if you did not like the food ordered from Room Service, I will make sure to discuss this with our Culinary team and improve the dishes served. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,185 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,802 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,791 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $238 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing